The results are in! Fort Dodge prep Drew Bennett was the winner of our Twitter poll that asked you, the fans, to select the final wrestler from Iowa to receieve a match at the “Night of Conflict”. The results were overwhelming as almost 800 fans selected Bennett to return to the event for his second career match at the event.

A year ago Bennett came into Carver-Hawkeye in search of an upset over a top five opponent. He came within inches of meeting that goal as he led 2-1 over Ohio’s Dylan D’Emilio midway through the third period at last year’s event, before falling in overtime 4-2. Throughout all of the regular season Bennett looked unstoppable carrying an undefeated record into the state semifinals where he lost to Waukee’s Kyle Biscoglia. In the spring Bennett was the freestyle state champion, and would go on to medal in both styles at the Northern Plains Regional.

His opponent will be #10 ranked Malik Johnson from Christian Brothers College High School in Missouri. A three-time state champion, Johnson has also lit it up on the national scene in his career as well, highlighted by winning the Cadet World Team Trials in Greco-Roman in 2016. Johnson also has podium finishes at Fargo (in freestyle and Greco-Roman) and Preseason Folkstyle Nationals. Fans of Iowa high school wrestling may recall that last season Johnson was the Independence Invite champion at 126 pounds where he defeated Solon’s Drew West in the finals.

Other Announced Matches:

#7 Jeremiah Reno (MO) vs #10 Cullan Schriever (IA)
#19 Luke Kemerer (PA) vs Cade DeVos (IA)
#3 Brandon Witman (MI) vs #4 Joel Shapiro (IA)
#4 Malcolm Robinson (NJ) vs #20 Michael Millage (IA)
#7 Cody Phippen (MO) vs #11 Aden Reeves (IA)
#9 Jace Koelzer (KS) vs #18 Kyle Biscoglia (IA)
#5 Matt Ramos (IL) vs #14 Caleb Rathjen (IA)
#2 Peyton Robb (MN) vs #6 Andrew Merola (NJ)
#5 Carly Valleroy (MO) vs #7 Felicity Taylor (IA)
#3 Anthony Cassioppi (IL) vs #7 Ronald Tucker (IL)
#10 Malik Johnson (MO) vs Drew Bennett (IA)

What is Night of Conflict?

The IAwrestle Team is proud to announce that this October we will be hosting a premier wrestling event titled “The Night of Conflict 3”, and will pit some of the best talent that the state of Iowa has to offer in a head-to-head battle for supremacy of each weight class. All proceeds benefit the Hawkeye Wrestling Club.

The event is scheduled for October 13, 2017 in Carver-Hawkeye Arena and it will take place the day before the preseason tournament, the Conflict at Carver.

Following weigh ins for the Conflict at Carver, wrestlers who have registered for the tournament will receive automatic admission into the Night of Conflict, free of charge. Tickets for the Night of Conflict will also be available for purchase at the door.

Wrestlers competing in the event will be split into two squads, and each team will be coached by a Hawkeye Wrestling Club member.

VIP Ticket Information: The first 50 fans to purchase a VIP ticket will receive the following benefits: On the mat seating, a VIP badge, an IAwrestle branded Rudis hat that is exclusive to VIP members, and one autographed program signed by all HWC wrestlers/coaches. Reminder: all proceeds benefit the Hawkeye Wrestling Club.

Floor seats – $25
General admission -$10

Event Time:

Doors open at 6 p.m. and Night of Conflict will start at 7 p.m.

Parking Info:

Parking lot oustide of Carver (Lot 46) does not open up to the public until 4:30 p.m.

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

One thought on “Drew Bennett Taking on Malik Johnson”
  1. […] #3 Matt Ramos (IL) vs #13 Caleb Rathjen (IA) PREVIEW #7 Malik Johnson (MO) vs Drew Bennett (IA) PREVIEW #5 Carly Valleroy (MO) vs #7 Felicity Taylor (IA) PREVIEW #10 Jace Koelzer (KS) vs #18 Kyle […]

Comments are closed.