For the just the second time in event history, an Iowa high school freshman will look to make his debut as Ankeny’s Caleb Rathjen will face Illinois standout Matthew Ramos at “The Night of Conflict 3” Presented by Rudis.

Rathjen has put together a fantastic spring and summer starting with winning the AAU state title earlier in the year and has since gone on to place third at USA Wrestling Folkstyle Nationals and seventh at USA Wrestling Freestyle Nationals. He also competed for Team Iowa at the Cadet National Duals going 6-0 in freestyle and 5-2 in Greco-Roman competition. His efforts haven’t gone without recognition with Flowrestling ranking him the #14 106 pounder in the country.

Coming in from Lockport, Illinois will be the #5 ranked Ramos who is coming off a summer where he finished runner-up in both freestyle and Greco-Roman in Fargo. Additional accolades for Ramos include a fifth place finish at the 2017 Illinois state tournament, fourth at the 2017 Cheesehead, seventh at USA Wrestling’s 2016 Preseason Nationals, 2016 Conflict at Carver champion, and he was also a double All-American at Fargo in 2016

This will be the third meeting between these two wrestlers since the month of June. The first was during Greco-Roman competition at the Cadet National Dual tournament in York, Pennsylvania. Ramos won the meeting 10-0. The two would also meet out at Fargo in freestyle, where Ramos came out on top 10-7 in the quarterfinals.

Other Announced Matches:

#7 Jeremiah Reno (MO) vs #10 Cullan Schriever (IA)
#19 Luke Kemerer (PA) vs Cade DeVos (IA)
#3 Brandon Witman (MI) vs #4 Joel Shapiro (IA)
#4 Malcolm Robinson (NJ) vs #20 Michael Millage (IA)
#7 Cody Phippen (MO) vs #11 Aden Reeves (IA)
#9 Jace Koelzer (KS) vs #18 Kyle Biscoglia (IA)
# 5 Matt Ramos (IL) vs #14 Caleb Rathjen (IA)

What is Night of Conflict?

The IAwrestle Team is proud to announce that this October we will be hosting a premier wrestling event titled “The Night of Conflict 3”, and will pit some of the best talent that the state of Iowa has to offer in a head-to-head battle for supremacy of each weight class. All proceeds benefit the Hawkeye Wrestling Club.

The event is scheduled for October 13, 2017 in Carver-Hawkeye Arena and it will take place the day before the preseason tournament, the Conflict at Carver.

Following weigh ins for the Conflict at Carver, wrestlers who have registered for the tournament will receive automatic admission into the Night of Conflict, free of charge. Tickets for the Night of Conflict will also be available for purchase at the door.

Wrestlers competing in the event will be split into two squads, and each team will be coached by a Hawkeye Wrestling Club member.

VIP Ticket Information: The first 50 fans to purchase a VIP ticket will receive the following benefits: On the mat seating, a VIP badge, an IAwrestle branded Rudis hat that is exclusive to VIP members, and one autographed program signed by all HWC wrestlers/coaches. Reminder: all proceeds benefit the Hawkeye Wrestling Club.

Additional Tickets will be available as the date draws closer.

Event Time:

Doors open at 6 p.m. and Night of Conflict will start at 7 p.m.

Parking Info:

Parking lot oustide of Carver (Lot 46) does not open up to the public until 4:30 p.m.

Night of Conflict 2 Results:

120: Noah Fye, IA WBF 0:36 Carter Cox, IA
132: Tristan Lara, IA dec. Niko Chavez, MO 7-4
126: Ronna Heaton, SD maj. dec. Alanah Vetterick, IA 8-0
285: Aaron Costello, IA dec. Sammy Evans, TN 5-3
125: Connor Brown, MO WBF 5:18 Aden Reeves, IL
160: Joel Shapiro, IA dec. Danny Braunagel, IL 8-4
141: JJ Figueroa, CA dec. Zach Barnes, IA 6-4 OT
122: Kyran Hagan, MO dec. Anthony Madrigal, IL 2-0
128: Dylan D’Emilio, OH dec. Drew Bennett, IA 4-2 OT
138: Jason Renteria, IL dec. Mike Millage, IA 18-11
182: Max Lyon, IA dec. AJ Pedro, MA 6-5
145: Jaime Hernandez, IL dec. Kaden Gfeller, OK 3-2
220: Cohlton Schultz dec. Jared Campbell 10-5

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

4 thoughts on “Rathjen Looking for Redemption Versus Ramos”
  1. […] (IA) #7 Cody Phippen (MO) vs #11 Aden Reeves (IA) #9 Jace Koelzer (KS) vs #18 Kyle Biscoglia (IA) #5 Matt Ramos (IL) vs #14 Caleb Rathjen (IA) #2 Peyton Robb (MN) vs #6 Andrew Merola (NJ) #5 Carly Valleroy (MO) vs #7 Felicity Taylor (IA) #3 […]

Comments are closed.