Top 10 Uncommitted Seniors in Iowa – 2018

*Since the release of this article the Fab 50 has been revamped. Please be patient while we work to bring you the latest information on the top 10 available seniors in the state of Iowa.*
**As of now only nine seniors in our Fab 50 remain uncommitted hence the list stopping at #9**

IAwrestle has unveiled our Preseason Fab 50 rankings, identifying the top 50 wrestlers in the state of Iowa. The list, compiled by rankings guru Lars Underbakke, considers athletes who have at least one high school season under their belts, As we near the beginning of the 2017-18 season, we at IAwrestle are going to take a look at the top 10 uncommitted wrestlers for the class of 2018.

1. Logan Schumacher (Martensdale-St Mary’s) | Fab 50 Ranking: #22

Martensdale-St Mary’s Logan Schumacher who is coming off a big 12 month stretch that saw him double up in All-American honors at Fargo in 2016, and he also earned his highest finish at the state tournament, a runner-up performance to Iowa State signee Alec McDowell at 182 pounds. While Schumacher has been successful in the state of Iowa his entire career, his national success has really only came within the last year. He has already been in contact with three Division I programs and is looking to pick his recruiting process back up after Fargo.

2. Cooper Lawson (Webster City) | Fab 50 Ranking: #23

Last year was a season of what could have been, as Webster City’s Cooper Lawson entered January ranked with the #1 ranking in 2017, but an injury derailed what could have been a special season for the heavyweight. The biggest question will be how Lawson recovers from that injury as the 2A heavyweight field is loaded with talent. Returning state runner-up John McConkey of Atlantic is #37 on the Fab 50, and Spencer Trenary checks in at #47. Lawson informed IAwrestle that he resumed training in late May, though he has yet to return to 100%.

The other question for Lawson might be whether or not the all-state offensive lineman opts to go the football route in college. Several coaches have already reached out to Lawson to continue his career in wrestling, but the Webster City prep is planning to hold off on making a final decision, possibly waiting until after the season concludes.

3. Donny Schmit (Wapsie Valley) | Fab 50 Ranking: #33

As a sophomore Donny Schmit put together a breakout performance winning the 106 pound state title, downing New London’s Sam Loyd in the finals. Last season Schmit ran the gauntlet just to get back to the finals, needing an overtime victory to beat then #5 Brady Henderson (North Linn) followed by pinning #3 Kody Berg (Westwood) in the semifinals. In the finals he ran into Underwood’s Alex Thomsen, who ended Schmit’s chances at picking up title number two, but Thomsen also provided the fuel for Schmit’s motivation to get back on top.

“I need to put some extra work outside of practices.” Schmit told IAwrestle, “Perfecting the little things and keep my shape in check. These seem to be the biggest things that affect me the most.”

Looking forward to this year, Schmit expects to go up in weight, potentially just one weight class to 132 pounds, but Schmit did say that 138 pounds is also on the table. Further down the road Schmit is also considering several school options including Division I programs Iowa and UNI, as well as the other top Iowa programs in the smaller division: Upper Iowa, Wartburg, and Grand View.

4. Tanner Sloan (Albrurnett) | Fab 50 Ranking: #34

Sloan is an attractive recruit for a variety of reasons including the fact that he was a state champion as a sophomore at an upper-weight. Last year was a bit of a setback in terms of Sloan’s placement at state where he took third. On the other hand Sloan was able to bump up to 182 pounds and defeated Alec McDowell 4-1. McDowell was a Virginia Beach Folkstyle All-American shortly after that result took place.

5. Gauge Perrien (Southeast Polk) | Fab 50 Rankng: #37

It’s no surprise to see another Southeast Polk wrestler on the list, this time it’s three-time state place-winner Gauge Perrien. Coming off his best state finish, Perrien joins Cade DeVos and Nate Lendt as returning finalists for the Rams.

Brennan Swafford

6. Brennan Swafford (Mediapolis) | Fab 50 Ranking: #38

Swafford is a new addition to the top 10, so look for more to come on him in the future!

7. Kaleb Reeves (Sigourney/Keota) | Fab 50 Ranking: 43

Reeves is a new addition to the top 10, so look for more to come on him in the future!

8. Grayson Kesterson (Williamsburg)| Fab 50 Ranking: 47

Kesterson is a new addition to the top 10, so look for more to come on him in the future!

Top 2018 Committed wrestlers (Fab 50 Ranking):

#1 Alex Thomsen (Underwood) – Nebraska
#2 Brody Teske (Fort Dodge) – Penn State
#4 Michael Millage (New Hampton) – Northern Iowa
#5 Joel Shapiro (West Des Moines – Valley) – Iowa State
#6 Nelson Brands (Iowa City West) – Iowa
#7 Francis Duggan (Iowa City West) – Iowa State
#9 Kyle Biscoglia (Waukee) – Northern Iowa
#10 Josh Ramirez (Dubuque Wahlert) – Ohio State
#11 Grant Stotts (West Des Moines – Valley) – Iowa State
#12 Bryce Esmoil (West Liberty) – Northern Iowa
#13 Drew Bennett (Fort Dodge) – Northern Iowa
#14 Cayd Lara (Fort Dodge) – Northern Iowa
#21 Anthony Sherry (Glenwood) – Iowa State
#24 Ben Sarasin (Cedar Rapids Kennedy) – University of Chicago
#25 Zach Price (Johnston) – South Dakota State
#27 Matt Robertson (Davenport Assumption) – Grand View
#28 Gable Fox (Don Bosco) – Northern Iowa
#29 Isaac Judge (South Tama) – Iowa State
#30 John McConkey (Atlantic) – Northern Iowa
#32 Hunter DeJong (Sibley-Ocheyedan) – Iowa State
#36 Chance Throndson (Riceville) – Upper Iowa
#39 Joe Kelly (West Liberty) – Iowa
#40 Trey Brisker (Wilton) – Air Force
#41 Harlan Steffensmeier – Air Force
#45 Tyrell Gordon (Waterloo East) – Northern Iowa
#49 Jordan Baumler (North Fayette) – Upper Iowa


One thought on “Top 10 Uncommitted Seniors in Iowa – 2018

  1. Pingback: Junior World Team Member Selects Iowa State |

Comments are closed.