Drew Foster 2019 Big 12 Wrestler of the Year

Drew Foster National Champion - Nic Ryder

Nic Ryder photos and graphic

Release courtesy of UNI Athletics

The Big 12 Conference announced UNI’s Drew Foster has been named the Big 12 Wrestler of the Year.

The Big 12 has announced the annual award since the 2015-16 season. Foster joins Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State) Dean Heil (Oklahoma State), and Seth Gross (South Dakota State) as the fourth recipient of the award.

Drew Foster (Burlington, Iowa) captured his second Big 12 title at 184 pounds in 2019, defeating South Dakota State’s Zach Carlson 11-3, Oklahoma State’s Dakota Geer 6-3 and defeated #11 Sam Colbray of Iowa State in the championship match 4-1.

Foster’s senior season saw a 5-2 record in Big 12 duals, the redshirt senior holds a 10-2 career record in Big 12 duals. Foster recorded ten wins over top 20 opponents including four wins against top ten opponents during the 2018-19 season.

Foster went on to a perfect 5-0 record in the NCAA Tournament to capture the Panthers first NCAA Championship since Tony Davis in 2000. Foster defeated #6 Max Dean of Cornell 6-4 in the championship match, marking just the second time in five matches Foster was able to defeat Dean.

UNI’s two time Big 12 Champion finished the season with a 28-5 record and a 95-35 career record.

One thought on “Drew Foster 2019 Big 12 Wrestler of the Year

  1. Congratulations, Drew. A well deserved recognition for your dedication, hard work, and great effort. You are a class act and a great role model for any young person, whether the ever put on a singlet on or not.
    Panther Proud!

Comments are closed.