MEDIA EVENT (Des Moines) – Fareway Stores, Inc. and Powerade present the Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with IAwrestle and the Iowa High School Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA). Three finalists from each of the three state wrestling classes, regardless of their year in school and weight class, have been selected by fan and IWCOA committee votes. The winners will be announced at the season-end luncheon gala.

WHEN: Thursday, February 22
11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

WHERE: Iowa Hall of Pride
330 Park Street
Des Moines, IA

The Top 3 Finalists Include:

Class 1A

Alex Thomsen – Underwood
Gable Fox – Don Bosco
Tanner Sloan – Alburnett  

Class 2A

Aden Reeves – Albia
Bryce Esmoil – West Liberty
Michael Blockus – New Hampton

Class 3A

Brody Teske – Fort Dodge
Joel Shapiro – West Des Moines Valley
Nelson Brands – Iowa City West 

Fareway Stores, Inc. is a Midwest grocery company currently operating 120 store locations in Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, and South Dakota. Fareway holds family values in the highest regard, demonstrating integrity, fairness, and honesty in relationships with customers, employees, vendors, and suppliers. Visit for more information. is an outlet for fans in Iowa to consume wrestling content. IAwrestle has grown into a bona fide media outlet providing coverage of Iowa’s three major Division I programs, its small college programs, as well as extensive coverage and commentary about the state’s rabid high school wrestling scene. Live streaming events, on-scene reporting, video interviews, and the Potentially Dangerous podcast are key draws to the site. IAwrestle also produces premiere wrestling events and showcases them in some of Iowa’s most iconic wrestling facilities.

One thought on “Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year FINALISTS!”

Comments are closed.