Teams were voted on and assembled by the IAwrestle team members. Our #1 criteria was present and past finishes at the state tournament (Most emphasis on the 2018 tournament). The #2 criteria was head to head matches from this season, which were used to break any ties.

  2018 IAwrestle Co-Most Valuable Wrestlers
Alex Thomsen – Underwood – Senior
Brody Teske – Fort Dodge – Senior
First Team
106 Cullan Schriever So (Mason City)
113 Nick Oldham Jr (WDM Valley)
120 Aden Reeves Jr (Albia)
126 Alex Thomsen Sr (Underwood)
132 Drew Bennett Sr (Fort Dodge)
138 Michael Blockhus Sr (New Hampton)
145 Cade DeVos Jr (Southeast Polk)
152 Harlan Steffensmeier Sr (Fort Madison)
160 Nelson Brands Sr (Iowa City West)
170 Ben Sarasin Sr (Cedar Rapids Kennedy)
182 Joel Shapiro Sr (WDM Valley)
195 Bryce Esmoil Sr (West Liberty)
220 Boone McDermott Sr (Dubuque Wahlert)
285 John McConkey Sr (Atlantic)
Second Team
106 Drake Ayala Fr (Fort Dodge)
113 Adam Allard So (West Sioux)
120 Kyle Biscoglia Sr (Waukee)
126 Brody Teske Sr (Fort Dodge)
132 Zach Price Sr (Johnston)
138 Gable Fox Sr (Don Bosco)
145 Ryan Steffen Sr (Crestwood, Cresco)
152 Cayd Lara Sr (Fort Dodge)
160 John Henrich Jr (Akron-Westfield)
170 Lucas Roland Jr (PCM, Monroe)
182 Julien Broderson Jr (Davenport Assumption)
195 Tanner Sloan Sr (Alburnett)
220 Francis Duggan Sr (Iowa City West)
285 Caleb Sanders Sr (Glenwood)
Third Team
106 Daniel Kimball Jr (Don Bosco)
113 Caleb Rathjen Fr (Ankeny)
120 Cael Happel So (Lisbon)
126 Shea Ruffridge Sr (Pocahontas Area)
132 Donny Schmit Sr (Wapsie Valley)
138 Zach Stewart Sr (Perry)
145 Cooper Siebrecht Sr (Lisbon)
152 Isaac Judge Sr (South Tama)
160 Josh Ramirez Sr (Dubuque Wahlert)
170 Gabe Pauley Jr (AHSTW)
182 Anthony Sherry Sr (Glenwood)
195 Jacob Dykes Sr (Iowa City High)
220 Jordan Baumler Sr (North Fayette Valley)
285 Spencer Trenary Jr (Clarion-Goldfield)
Fourth Team
106 Matthew Lewis Fr (Centerville)
113 Andrew Flora Jr (ADM)
120 Kobey Pritchard Sr (Southeast Polk)
126 Eric Faught Jr (Clear Lake)
132 Matt Robertson Sr (Davenport Assumption)
138 Deville Denits Jr (Des Moines East)
145 Noah Fye Sr (New Hampton)
152 Trey Brisker Sr (Wilton)
160 Zane Mulder Sr (Dallas Center-Grimes)
170 Kolton Bartow Sr (Dubuque Wahlert)
182 Logan Schumacher Sr (Martensdale-St. Marys)
195 Cody Fisher So (Woodward-Granger)
220 Greg Hagan Jr (WDM Dowling)
285 Brian Sadler Sr (Jesup)
Fifth Team
106 Jarod Kadel Jr (Columbus/WMU)
113 Grayson Kesterson Sr (Williamsburg)
120 Ben Monroe So (Ankeny Centennial)
126 Joey Pins Jr (Dubuque Hempstead)
132 Eli Loyd So (Pleasant Valley)
138 Jarret Miller Sr (Ballard)
145 Mason Hulse Sr (Boone)
152 Lance Runyon Jr (Southeast Polk)
160 Luke Hageman Sr (Beckman Catholic)
170 Anthony Zach Jr (Waukee)
182 Kyler Fisher Jr (Southeast Valley)
195 Hunter DeJong Sr (Sibley-Ocheyedan)
220 Cam Fulcher Sr (Hudson)
285 Tyler Linderbaum Sr (Solon)
21 thoughts on “2018 IAwrestle All-State Teams”
  1. […] Compiling a 49-1 record, Bartow’s only loss this season came in the state finals to PCM’s Lucas Roland. Prior to that Bartow torched the field earning three straight falls to reach the finals. It was there that Roland managed to come out on top with a 5-1 decision. Bartow’s dominant season certainly caught our eye as the future Duhawk was named to one of IAwrestle’s All-State team. […]

  2. Stotts did beat Lara twice and Runyon 3/4 times this year. I know he got 4th, but he lost to Steffensmeier who was on a mission that week and it is not easy on the backside, especially when you have never been there and are used to being in the finals.. Guessing there was some mental aspect effecting his ability to wrestle his best against Runyon when his fream of being a 4x finalist and 2x champ was crushed.

  3. You have some apologizing to do to Brody Teske. And the dual and traditional champs fort dodge. A win in regulation vs a SV OT should not be equal criteria.
    Teske deserves 1st team.

    1. A one exchange match is a one exchange match whether it’s in OT or the end of the 3rd. The ONLY reason we have Thomsen first team is he won the most recent meeting. These kids are virtually even.

  4. Gary Steffensmeier must be on the selection committee. I think Runyon and Brisker both beats Harlan. Lara would beat him 9 of 10 tried. Number 10 just happened to be the state championship match. It’s all smoke and mirrors.

    1. Put your Name here Anonymous. Should they ask you to be on the selection committee?

    2. Gotta love the Harlan haters. All he did is beat Stotts twice, Judge once this year. Split with Lara. Check out his track profile, couple of other tough dudes he beat this year too. Don’t judge him on what he has done other years (which was pretty darn good by the way). Kid made a huge jump this year…give him a little credit. You sound like a poor loser.

  5. Interesting that third team Trenary at 285 barley beat Maravilla that placed fourth in a bracket that Sadler pinned his way through. Your criteria puts Sadler ahead of him. Once again IA wrestle blowing it. It’s a joke

    1. Well Trenary is a Fargo national champ. He also was a takedown away from winning the toughest 285 bracket in the state. One close match isn’t enough to drop a kid below another. Especially considering you could find bad close wins from Sadler.

      1. Bad close wins as in Farley a fifth place finisher or Pitman that was in a tough sectional but probably good enough in another sectional/district. But yes Sadler gave up one take down on the year.

        1. So it’s better to have a close win over a 5th placer and a guy that didn’t make it out of sectionals than one close win against a 4th place finisher? Interesting logic. He has one loss to the best healthy 285 in the state by 1 point. I don’t know what this back room, kid refereed match at a team camp, in the summer you claim is because track has no record of it. Also Trenarys style could be a nightmare match up for Sadler. Im sure Trenary will be at plenty of freestyle and Greco tournaments this off season, can we count on seeing Sadler there to prove it? Also I’m out on any conversation that turns to discussing heavyweights takedown numbers.

          1. so we are picking the all state folk style wrestling team on Greco and freestyle results interesting. Once agin didn’t see theat in critera.

            1. This conversation is going nowhere. All of the non biased experts agree with me, a few of your friends agree with you and that’s that. We have guys all over that have watched 100’s of all these guys matches and not one put Sadler higher. He’s good, but he’s also right where he should be. Also freestyle and Greco absolutely matter when it comes to splitting hairs especially when there isn’t any legitimate head to head.

      2. And was I reading criteria wrong. Maybe I just didn’t see Fargo results as Critera. Once again blown

  6. I think that Brian Sadler should be on your 1st team at 285 lbs, He is a 3 time state placer with this year taking 1st, He pinned his way to state and pinned his way through state last weekend.He is a great young man and a Hella role model for all of the young kids that wrestle

  7. This is so jaded to central and eastern Iowa it’s not even funny. Why dont u just give your self a self proclaimed trophy.

Comments are closed.