Tony Rotundo –

[twitter-follow screen_name=’RossIAWrestle’ show_count=’yes’ text_color=’00ccff’][twitter-follow screen_name=’IAWrestle’ show_count=’yes’ text_color=’00ccff’]

The Iowa State wrestling improved their perfect record to 4-0 on the season, as they defeated the Michigan State Spartans 22-9 on Sunday in East Lansing. The Cyclones took seven out of the ten matches from the Spartans including a major decision effort from Tanner Weatherman at 174.

The dual started off on a shaky note when Javier Garcia of Michigan State upset All-American Earl Hall at 133 with a 6-4 decision. The Spartans followed that performance with another “upset” as Garth Yenter defeated John Meeks at 141 11-8. Meeks made a late run in his match, but in the end he put himself in a hole that made a comeback difficult to achieve.

It was up to 149 Gabe Moreno to set the Cyclones on the right track as he started a string of six consecutive wins by Iowa State. After picking up three straight decisions from Moreno, Luke Goettl (157), and Mike Moreno (165), Tanner Weatherman came out and blanked Nick Proctor 8-0 to put Iowa State up 13-6 heading into the final four matches. Lelund Weatherspoon (184) and Kyven Gadson (197) picked up a pair of decisions to clinch the dual with a 19-6 lead.

Luke Jones was able to pick up a win over Quean Smith at 285, but Kyle Larson (125) closed out the Cyclone dual with a 6-4 decision and officially closed the books on the dual.

After earning two victories in the state of Michigan, the Cyclones will head back to their home state and travel into Iowa City to try and try to snap a ten dual losing streak to their instate rivals the Iowa Hawkeyes. Look for our ISU-Iowa preview later this week.

125: Kyle Larson (ISU) dec. Mitch Rogaliner (MSU), 6-4.
133: No. 16 Javier Gasca (MSU) dec. No. 12 Earl Hall (ISU), 5-3.
141: Garth Yenter (MSU) dec. John Meeks (ISU), 11-8.
149: Gabe Moreno (ISU) dec. Nick Trimble (MSU), 8-5.
157: Luke Goettl (ISU) dec. Roger Wildmo (MSU), 7-3.
165: No. 3 Michael Moreno (ISU) dec. Ryan Watts (MSU), 5-2.
174: No. 6 Tanner Weatherman (ISU) maj. dec. Nick Proctor (MSU), 8-0.
184: No. 18 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. John Rizqallah (MSU), 10-3.
197: No. 3 Kyven Gadson (ISU) dec. Nick McDiarmid (MSU), 8-3.
285: Luke Jones (MSU) dec. Quean Smith (ISU), 7-3.

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle