When: March 12th, 2022 at 6:30PM. 
Where: Franklin Junior High
Tickets: Eventbrite $15-$40 ($450 VIP Tables)
Stream: Rokfin

The Night of Conflict, Iowa’s premier high school wrestling event, is headed to the state’s capital for a night of high caliber wrestling. Fans can expect some of the best at the high school and youth level to compete on stage. The card already has seven matches locked with state champ versus state champ. General admission and VIP tickets can be found at NightofConflict.com. Night of Conflict will be streamed live and archived for premium subscribers on Rokfin.

It’s always a good time when we can put two Night of Conflict alums together in a matchup. On the Iowa side of this matchup is two-time state champion Kale Petersen and on the other is Montana standout Carter Schmidt.

The last time most Iowans saw Schmidt was at our 2020 fall event when he faced off with another Greene County wrestler – McKinley Robbins. Schmidt looked to be in control of that match until Robbins stormed back to win by fall. This time around we will likely see a different type of battle with Petersen eyeing a statement win, and Schmidt attempting to wash a bad taste out of his mouth from his last go ’round.

Schmit is a two-time Montana state finalist winning the 2022 state title. He was a contender to win in 2021, but an injury cut his tournament short that led to him forfeiting out after his semifinal match. He also earned All-American honors back-to-back years at USA Wrestling’s Preseason Nationals.

After winning his second state title last month, Petersen said he was ready to go out and prove he is not just one of the best wrestlers in Iowa, but in the country as well. We got a glimpse of that last fall when he defeated Alan Koehler at our Night of Conflict event. As Petersen looks to build his resume, this will be a good test for the Greene County standout.

Youth Lineup:

Wil Oberbroeckling of Sebolt vs. Dawson Youngblut of Immortal
Nico DeSalvo of Sebolt vs. Gavin Landers of Immortal
Nolan Fellers of Sebolt vs. Jaxon Miller of Ubasa
Hudson “Ace” Chittum of Boom Ranch vs. Hayden Schwab of Immortal
Cooper Hinz of Big Game vs. Hendrix Schwab of Immortal
Kai McDonald of Sebolt vs. Ty Martin of Immortal
Liam “Catfish” Jennett of Sebolt vs. Ethan Humphrey of Big Game
Chase Watkinson of McDominate vs. Jack Wallukait of Ubasa
Brayton Foster of Sebolt vs. Amir Newman-Winfrey of Hammer Time

High School Lineup:

Dru Ayala (Fort Dodge) vs Jace Hedeman (Union)
Koufax Christensen (Waukee Northwest) vs Eli Becerra (Missouri Valley)
Kolton Munson (Ogden) vs Blake Gioimo (Cedar Rapids Prairie)
Carter Freeman (Waukee Northwest) vs Jaiden Moore (Benton Community)
Kale Petersen (Greene County) vs Carter Schmidt (Montana)
Nate Jesuroga (Southeast Polk) vs Marcel Lopez (New London)
Tucker Stangel (Osage) vs Kane Naaktgeboren (Linn-Mar)
Hagen Heistand (Underwood) vs Avery Allen (Montana)
Aiden Riggins (Waverly-Shell Rock) vs MJ Gaitan (California)
Griffin Gammell (Waukee Northwest) vs Tate Naaktgeboren (Linn-Mar)
Wyatt Voelker (West Delaware) vs Luke Rasmussen (Brookings, South Dakota)
Jared Thiry (Don Bosco) vs Barrett Muller (Osage)
Easton Fleshman (West Lyon) vs Maddux Borcherding-Johnson (Norwalk)

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle