When: March 12th, 2022 at 6:30PM. 
Where: Franklin Junior High
Tickets: Eventbrite $15-$40 ($450 VIP Tables)
Stream: Rokfin

The Night of Conflict, Iowa’s premier high school wrestling event, is headed to the state’s capital for a night of high caliber wrestling. Fans can expect some of the best at the high school and youth level to compete on stage. The card already has seven matches locked with state champ versus state champ. General admission and VIP tickets can be found at NightofConflict.com. Night of Conflict will be streamed live and archived for premium subscribers on Rokfin.

Our last high school matchup will pit a returning Night of Conflict wrestler against one of the state’s top sophomores, with Blake Gioimo taking on Kolton Munson.

Munson has really turned the corner on the high school scene taking seventh place as a freshman and then rocketing up to a runner-up finish this past season at 113 pounds (his finals match was against Missouri Valley’s Eli Becerra, who is also on this card).

Like Munson, Gioimo has really come on the past two seasons. As a freshman he qualified for the state tournament, but came home empty handed. He has since gone on to reach the finals in back-to-back seasons, was the 2021 freestyle state runner-up, and was the third place All-American at USA Wrestling’s Preseason Nationals this past fall.

Youth Lineup:

Wil Oberbroeckling of Sebolt vs. Dawson Youngblut of Immortal
Nico DeSalvo of Sebolt vs. Gavin Landers of Immortal
Nolan Fellers of Sebolt vs. Jaxon Miller of Ubasa
Hudson “Ace” Chittum of Boom Ranch vs. Hayden Schwab of Immortal
Cooper Hinz of Big Game vs. Hendrix Schwab of Immortal
Kai McDonald of Sebolt vs. Ty Martin of Immortal
Liam “Catfish” Jennett of Sebolt vs. Ethan Humphrey of Big Game
Chase Watkinson of McDominate vs. Jack Wallukait of Ubasa
Brayton Foster of Sebolt vs. Amir Newman-Winfrey of Hammer Time

High School Lineup:

Dru Ayala (Fort Dodge) vs Jace Hedeman (Union)
Koufax Christensen (Waukee Northwest) vs Eli Becerra (Missouri Valley)
Kolton Munson (Osage) vs Blake Gioimo (Cedar Rapids Prarire)
Carter Freeman (Waukee Northwest) vs Jaiden Moore (Benton Community)
Kale Petersen (Greene County) vs Carter Schmidt (Montana)
Nate Jesuroga (Southeast Polk) vs Marcel Lopez (New London)
Tucker Stangel (Osage) vs Kane Naaktgeborn (Linn-Mar)
Hagen Heistand (Underwood) vs Avery Allen (Montana)
Aiden Riggins (Waverly-Shell Rock) vs MJ Gaitan (California)
Griffin Gammell (Waukee Northwest) vs Tate Naaktgeboren (Linn-Mar)
Wyatt Voelker (West Delaware) vs Luke Rasmussen (Brookings, South Dakota)
Jared Thiry (Don Bosco) vs Barrett Muller (Osage)
Easton Fleshman (West Lyon) vs Maddux Borcherding-Johnson (Norwalk)

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle