When: March 12th, 2022 at 6:30PM. 
Where: Franklin Junior High
Tickets: Eventbrite $15-$40 ($450 VIP Tables)
Stream: Rokfin

The Night of Conflict, Iowa’s premier high school wrestling event, is headed to the state’s capital for a night of high caliber wrestling. Fans can expect some of the best at the high school and youth level to compete on stage. The card already has seven matches locked with state champ versus state champ. General admission and VIP tickets can be found at NightofConflict.com. Night of Conflict will be streamed live and archived for premium subscribers on Rokfin.

A battle of future Hawkeyes taking place at heavyweight. Easton Fleshman is a 2022 wrestling recruit for Iowa, and Maddux Borcherding-Johnson is a 2023 prospect for the football team. Both are among the state’s best heavyweights this season.

Fleshman had his season end in one of the more self-satisfying ways. After taking a regular season loss to Solon’s Gage Marty, Fleshman knew he was likely going to need to go through Marty once again to win his title. It took overtime, but Fleshman managed a 2-1 UTB win to bring home the 2A title.

Fleshman’s rise started the summer of his junior year where he knocked off nationally ranked Gabe Greenlee at freestyle state and from there has been solid and is now nationally ranked at heavyweight.

Borcherding-Johnson didn’t quite have the end to his season as he would have liked, bringing home a third place medal in Class 3A. Borcherding-Johnson was easily one of the top 3A heavyweights this past year, and he also earned All-American honors by taking fourth out at Fargo last summer so he can go with the best of them.

Announced Lineup:

Koufax Christensen (Waukee Northwest) vs Eli Becerra (Missouri Valley)
Carter Freeman (Waukee Northwest) vs Jaiden Moore (Benton Community)
Nate Jesuroga (Southeast Polk) vs Marcel Lopez (New London)
Aiden Riggins (Waverly-Shell Rock) vs MJ Gaitan (California)
Griffin Gammell (Waukee Northwest) vs Tate Naaktgeboren (Linn-Mar)
Wyatt Voelker (West Delaware) vs Luke Rasmussen (Brookings, South Dakota)
Jared Thiry (Don Bosco) vs Barrett Muller (Osage)
Easton Fleshman (West Lyon) vs Maddux Borcherding-Johnson (Norwalk)

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle