Top ranked Loras continues to lead the Lower Midwest Regional in a field that includes #2 Wartburg, #5 Coe, and several other top 25 teams. Wrestlers finishing in the top three of their regional advance to the NCAA Championships, which are returning to Cedar Rapids next month.

The Duhawks have advanced all ten wrestlers to the semifinal round. Returning All-Americans Clint Lembeck, Brandon Murray, Eddie Smith, Jacob Krawkow, and Guy Patron are all one win away from advancing to Cedar Rapids. Also in the semifinals for Loras are Matt Randone, Mason McMillen, Daniel Ruiz, Shane Liegel, and Wyatt Wriedt.

Chasing the Duhawks are the Knights of Wartburg, who are currently in third and will be sending six to the semifinals. The Knights semifinalists are Kristian Rumph, Martine Sandoval, Max Forsyth, Kyle Briggs, Kobe Woods, and Jordan Brandon.

Returning All-American Brady Fritz (Wartburg) who was sixth a year ago at 141 pounds was upset by fellow Iowa native Riley Wright (Coe) in quarterfinals. Wright will have his next test against #10 Dan Radcliffe (Central) in the next round.

Coe will also be sending four other wrestlers to the semifinals, Brock Henderson, Cole Erickson, Tristin Westphal, and returning All-American Taylor Mehmen.

Just behind is Coe is Central who have four in the semifinals. In addition to Radcliffe who is facing Wright Central has Robert Areyano, Nathan Fritz, and Duncan Lee.

Cornell has a pair of wrestlers in the semifinals, Nic Jarvis at 165 Bryce Oveson at 184 pounds, while the lone Simpson semifinalist is Dylan McChesney in the semifinals at 125 pounds.

Former Western Dubuque state champion Bradan Birt (Millikin) advanced to the semifinals at 165.


125: #3 Robbie Precin (North Central) vs Matt Randone (Loras)
125: Nathaneal Rankin (Ozarks) vs Dylan McChesney (Simpson)

133: #1 Kristian Rumph (Wartburg) vs Mason McMillen (Loras)
133: Brock Henderson (Coe) vs Ian Mullen (North Central)

141: #4 Clint Lembeck (Loras) vs Marc Fleenor (North Central)
141: Riley Wright (Coe) vs #10 Dan Radcliffe (Central)

149: Robert Areyano (Central) vs Anthony Rink (North Central)
149: Daniel Ruiz (Loras) vs #7 Sean Sax (Westminster)

157: #4 Brandon Murray (Loras) vs Cole Erickson (Coe)
157: #10 Martine Sandoval (Wartburg) vs Rafael Roman (North Central)

165: #6 Bradan Birt (Millikin) vs Nic Jarvis (Cornell)
165: #4 Eddie Smith (Loras) vs #2 Max Forsyth (Wartburg)

174: #2 (at 184) Kyle Briggs (Wartburg) vs Taylor McGiffen (Millikin)
174: #4 Jacob Krakow (Loras) vs Tristin Westphal (Coe)

184: #5 Cody Baldridge (North Central) vs #8 Shane Liegel (Loras)
184: Bryce Oveson (Cornell) vs Nathan Fritz (Central)

197: #1 Guy Patron (Loras) vs Logan Hagerbaumer (Millikin)
197: #2 Taylor Mehmen (Coe) vs #3 Kobe Woods (Wartburg)

285: Jerhett Lee (Ozarks) vs Wyatt Wriedt (Loras)
285: #8 Jordon Brandon (Wartburg) vs Duncan Lee (Central)

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle