The University of Iowa does not officially begin their competition schedule until next week, but the team will not be idle this week with Brands scheduling 16 intra-squad matches. The matches will take place over the course of two days and be located inside the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex in Carver-Hawkeye.

The first day will feature plenty of familiar faces with four wrestlers with previous postseason experience making the 2019 debut. Fans will notably see the return of two-time All-American Michael Kemerer, who was sidelined all of last season with injury.

On day two we see returning All-American Austin DeSanto matched up against Aaron Meyer, who is a 141-pound wrestler. There have been some rumors about whether or not DeSanto would move up to 141 to make room for Gavin Teasdale (who is wrestling former 133-pound starter Paul Glynn on Thursday). The team has stressed these are not wrestle offs so the matchups themselves shouldn’t be taken as gospel, but it is noteworthy.

Fans are always eager to see the new crop of wrestlers compete against the team veterans and we will see all three true freshmen in action this week. At 149 Cobe Siebrecht will face two-year starter Vince Turk and upper weights Abe Assad and Zach Glazier will face Cash Wilcke and Jacob Warner respectively.

Press Release from Hawkeye Sports

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling program will wrestle 16 preseason matches over the course of two days beginning Thursday and Friday at 3:30 p.m. (CT) inside the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex.

The public is invited to attend. Admission is free. Fans in attendance will be asked to remove your street shoes prior to entering the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex, and to refrain from using video recording devices.

Thursday, Nov. 7 @ 3:30 p.m.

  1. Aaron Cashman / Spencer Lee
  2. Paul Glynn / Gavin Teasdale
  3. Carter Happel / Justin Stickley
  4. Zach Axmear / Pat Lugo
  5. Cobe Siebrecht / Vince Turk
  6. Michael Kemerer / Jeremiah Moody
  7. Sam Cook / Connor Corbin
  8. Zach Glazier / Jacob Warner
  9. Tony Cassioppi / Aaron Costello

Friday, Nov. 8 @ 3:30 p.m.

  1. Austin DeSanto / Aaron Meyer
  2. Winner #4 / Winner #5
  3. Zach Axmear / Kaleb Young
  4. Joe Kelly / Alex Marinelli
  5. Nelson Brands / Jeremiah Moody
  6. Abe Assad / Cash Wilcke
  7. Jacob Warner / Winner #7

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

One thought on “Hawkeyes Release: Preseason Matches Set for Thursday and Friday”

Comments are closed.