IAwrestle has unveiled our newest Fab50 rankings, identifying the top 50 wrestlers in the state of Iowa. The list, compiled by rankings guru Lars Underbakke, considers athletes who have at least one high school season under their belts. Here is where things stand as we near the start of the 2019 season. The list does not include graduating seniors or incoming freshman. We also did not include any incoming transfers as you had to wrestle in Iowa last season. These are a combination of folkstyle, freestyle and greco results. Longevity also came into play for the upperclassmen as well. Due to this list including all weights, across all classes, head to head was not a major factor unless both guys were very close. This is driven by results at major tournaments such as high school state and Fargo.

Think a guy should be ranked higher? Get in on the conversation on social media using the hashtag #IAFab50.

1 Drake Ayala Ft Dodge Jr
2 Cullan Schriever Mason City Sr
3 Cael Happel Lisbon Sr
4 Adam Allard West Sioux Sr
5 Gabe Christenson Southeast Polk Sr
6 Cody Fisher Woodward-Granger Sr
7 Caleb Rathjen Ankeny Jr
8 Matthew Lewis Centerville Jr
9 Griffin Liddle Bettendorf Jr
10 Jack Thomsen Union, Laporte City Sr
11 Eli Loyd Pleasant Valley Sr
12 Robert Avila Lisbon So
13 Hayden Taylor Solon So
14 Nick Hamilton Underwood So
15 Adam Ahrendsen Union, Laporte City Jr
16 Wyatt Voelker West Delaware So
17 Carter Fousek Crestwood, Cresco So
18 Hunter Garvin Iowa City West So
19 Ben Monroe Ankeny Centennial Sr
20 Wade Mitchell Woodbury Central Sr
21 Marcel Lopez New London So
22 Trever Anderson Ankeny So
23 Jack Gaukel Sergeant Bluff-Luton Jr
24 Brandon O’Brien Linn-Mar Jr
25 Logan James Underwood Sr
26 Colby Schriever Mason City Sr
27 Sage Walker Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Sr
28 Carson Taylor Ft Dodge Sr
29 Blake Thomsen Underwood Sr
30 Aiden Riggins Waverly-Shell Rock So
31 Stevie Barnes Underwood So
32 Justin McCunn Red Oak Sr
33 Carson Tenold Don Bosco So
34 Aidan Noonan Cascade Jr
35 Briar Reisz Logan-Magnola Jr
36 Beau Klingensmith Woodbury Central, Moville Jr
37 Cody Anderson Waukee Sr
38 Nathaniel Genobana Centerville Jr
39 Will Esmoil West Liberty Sr
40 Brayden Wolf Waverly-Shell Rock Sr
41 Blaine Frazier Notre Dame, Burlington So
42 Lucas Walker Waverly-Shell Rock Jr
43 Thomas Even Don Bosco Sr
44 Austin Kegley Cedar Rapids Prairie Sr
45 Jalen Schropp Williamsburg Sr
46 Daniel Meeker Wapello Sr
47 Josh Vis Cedar Rapids Kennedy Sr
48 Logan Neils Ankeny Centennial Sr
49 Gabe Lewis Denver Sr
50 Treyton Cacek GT-RA Sr
5 thoughts on “IAwrestle 2019 preseason Fab50 rankings”
  1. […] as a three-time state place-winner and stands at the top of our uncommitted seniors in the latest¬†IAwrestle Fab50. Nick Hamilton enters his sophomore season with high accolades after being a state runner-up as a […]

Comments are closed.