The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two students competing in intercollegiate athletics from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year’s recipients span 17 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including aerospace engineering, agricultural economics, architectural studies, art history, biomedical engineering, business, chemical engineering, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, finance, history, kinesiology, neuroscience, operations management, physiology, public relations, psychology and statistics. All of this year’s recipients have been named Academic All-Conference during their careers.

Three of the recipients have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship honorees in their respective sports during this academic year: Indiana’s Mollie Getzfread in field hockey, Purdue’s Jon McKeeman in basketball and Wisconsin’s Sara Novak in softball. Two captured national championships in 2016-17: Penn State’s Geno Morelli in wrestling and Ohio State’s Christy Blough in men’s volleyball. Five earned All-Big Ten accolades during the 2016-17 campaign with Nebraska’s Jennie Laeng earning first-team honors in gymnastics, Ohio State’s Lindsay Agnew a second-team selection in soccer, Getzfread gaining second-team honors, Michigan State’s Nicola Deans was a second-team honoree in gymnastics and Iowa’s Loxley Kaela garnering honorable mention accolades in volleyball.

Agnew and Morelli were awarded the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Scholarship in February 2017.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2016-17 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Alia Abu-Douleh, Women’s Soccer
Aaron Wilks, Men’s Track and Field

Austin Foote, Baseball
Mollie Getzfread, Field Hockey

Loxley Keala, Women’s Volleyball
Alex Meyer, Wrestling

Charde’ Barnes, Women’s Track and Field/Cross Country
Tayler Stiles, Baseball

Eliza Stein, Field Hockey
Cameron Stitt, Men’s Swimming

Michigan State
Nicola Deans, Women’s Gymnastics
Andrew Herr, Men’s Soccer

Bailey Abernathy, Women’s Gymnastics
Michael Kroells, Wrestling

Eric Coufal, Wrestling
Jennie Laeng, Women’s Gymnastics

Julia Abelsky, Fencing
Cooper Wetherbee, Baseball

Ohio State
Christian “Christy” Blough, Men’s Volleyball
Lindsay Agnew, Women’s Soccer

Penn State
Casey Francis, Women’s Swimming
Geno Morelli, Wrestling

Jon McKeeman, Men’s Basketball
Christa Szalach, Women’s Soccer

Patrick McCabe, Men’s Lacrosse
Sarah Regn, Field Hockey

Sara Novak, Softball
Alexander Idarrada, Men’s Rowing

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

One thought on “Big Ten Announces Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients”
  1. […] Meyer, a Pleasant Hill, Iowa, native, posted an overall record of 26-9 and a Big Ten record of 7-2 in 2016-17. He recorded career bests in major decisions (8) and technical falls (5), and placed fifth at the Big Ten Championships at 174 pounds to qualify for the NCAA Championships for the second straight year. Meyer was an All-American for the Hawkeyes in 2016, reaching as high as No. 3 in the national polls. He had a perfect 9-0 Big Ten record his junior season, recording a career high 27 victories. He is a four-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, and a two-time member of the National Wrestling Coaches Associations All-Academic team. He recorded 89 wins in his four-year career, and he graduated in December with a Bachelor of Arts in chemistry and a Bachelor of Science in human physiology. Meyer was one of Iowa’s two nominees to receive the Big Ten Conference Postgraduate Scholarship. […]

Comments are closed.