The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced its end-of-season wrestling awards Wednesday, March 29, 2017 with Wartburg’s Eric DeVos (Okoboji, Iowa/Waverly-Shell Rock) and Loras’ Guy Patron Jr. (Harvey, La./Jesuit) headlining the announcement as Iowa Conference MVP and Freshman of the Year, respectively. Loras College, first year head coach TJ Miller was voted IIAC Coach of the Year.

In addition, the 2016-17 All-Iowa Conference Wrestling Team was official announced. The 30-member team is composed of the top three Iowa Conference place-winners at the NCAA Division III Central Region Championships.

Most Valuable Player – Eric DeVos, Wartburg College
Eric DeVos earned IIAC MVP after capturing his first NCAA Division III Championship at 174 lbs. DeVos wrapped up his junior year with a 19-0 record that included six falls. DeVos became the 43rd National Champion in Wartburg history with a 10-1 major decision over Ben Swarr of Messiah in the finals. The championship victory avenged a loss to Swarr in last year’s national championship bout. DeVos made his way to a national title with a first-round technical fall over Jaison White of Ithaca, quarter final fall over Washington & Jefferson’s Sonnieboy Blanco, and a semifinal 8-1 decision over Richard Carlson of Wisconsin-La Crosse. DeVos is now a two-time All-American with one national title and one runner-up finish.

Freshman of the Year – Guy Patron Jr., Loras College
Guy Patron Jr. was named IIAC Freshman of the Year, as voted on by the league’s head coaches. He capped of his freshman campaign with a 3rd-place finish at the NCAA Division III Wrestling National Championships. On his way to All-American honors at 197 lbs., Patron Jr. suffered a first-round loss to Messiah’s Kyle Koser but bounced back to defeat three consecutive seeded wrestlers in the consolation bracket. He ended the season with a 39-6 record and 20 wins by fall, which ranks third in Division III. Patron Jr. 3rd-place finish is the highest placing by a freshman in Loras College history.

Coach of the Year – TJ Miller, Loras College
In his first season at the helm of the Loras College wrestling program, TJ Miller was selected Iowa Conference Coach of the Year by the conference’s head coaches. Miller led the Duhawks to a 7-1 dual meet record in conference action and 12-7 overall. Miller was also named the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Rookie Coach of the Year following Loras’ best finish in program history at the 2017 NCAA Division III National Championships (6th, 46.5 points). Miller’s program saw three wrestlers earn All-American honors this season for the eighth time in program history and first time since 2002.

Nine of the 30 All-Iowa Conference honorees were Central Regional Champions. Wartburg crowned a league leading, five champions in Kenneth Martin (149lbs.), Logan Thomsen (157lbs.), Eric DeVos (174lbs.), Kyle Fank (197lbs.), and Lance Evans (285lbs.). Central had two champions, CJ Pestano (125lbs.) and Ryan Vandall (165lbs). Loras’s Clint Lembeck was the sole champion for the Duhawks. Lembeck was also named Central Region Outstanding Wrestler. Luther also crowned one champion, Justin Kreiter (184lbs.).

The All-Iowa Conference team is made up of 10 Wartburg wrestlers, seven Loras, five Central, three Luther, two Coe, and one from Simpson and Dubuque. 16 of the 30 All-Iowa Conference selections repeated from 2015-16 while Jan Rosenberg of Coe, Connor Campo of Wartburg, Michael Triplett of Loras, Martin of Wartburg, Kreiter of Luther, and Central’s Matt Seabold all became three time honorees.

The complete 2016-17 All-Iowa Conference Wrestling team is as follows:

Name Weight Regional Finish School Year Hometown/Highschool
CJ Pestano ! 125 1st place Central Jr. Torrance, Calif./Torrance
Arnulfo Olea ! 125 2nd place Wartburg Sr. Exeter, Calif./Exeter
Jan Rosenberg !$ 125 4th place Coe Sr. Rockaway, N.J./Morris Knolls
Cam Timok 133 2nd place Central So. Glen Allen, Va./Hermitage
Connor Campo !$ 133 3rd place Wartburg Sr. Covington, La./ St. Paul’s
Michael Triplett !$ 133 5th place Loras Jr. Normal, Ill./Normal West
Clint Lembeck 141 1st place Loras Fr. Marion, Iowa/Xavier
Cross Cannoe 141 2nd place Wartburg So. Trumbull, Conn./Trumbull
Daniel Radcliffe 141 3rd place Central Fr. Lockport, Ill./Lockport Township
Kenneth Martin @% !$ 149 1st place Wartburg Sr. Omaha, Neb./Lincoln SW
Cole Erickson 149 3rd place Coe Fr. Mediapolis, Iowa/Mediapolis
Evan Weaver ! 149 5th place Loras Sr. Normal, Ill./University
Logan Thomsen 157 1st place Wartburg Jr. La Porte City, Iowa/ Union
Jimmy Davis 157 2nd place Loras Jr. Aurora, Ill./Waubonsie Valley
Quincy Kalkbrenner 157 3rd place Dubuque Jr. Lena, Ill./Lena-Winslow
Ryan Vandall ! 165 1st place Central Sr. Phoenix, Ariz./Moon Valley
Tristan Zurfluh ! 165 2nd place Luther Sr. Sparta, Wis./Sparta
Andrew Steiert $ 165 3rd place Wartburg Sr. Waverly, Iowa/
Eric DeVos ! 174 1st place Wartburg Jr. Okaboji, Iowa/Waverly-Shell Rock
Javier Reyes ! 174 3rd place Luther Sr. Oakley Calif./Buchanon
Eddie Smith 174 4th place Loras Fr. Prairie Du Sac, Wis./Sauk Prairie
Justin Kreiter !$ 184 1st place Luther Sr. Davenport, Iowa/North Scott
Bryan Levsen ! 184 3rd place Wartburg Sr. Bettendorf, Iowa/Bettendorf
Awais Arain 184 4th place Loras Jr. Bolingbrook, Ill./Plainfield East
Kyle Fank 197 1st place Wartburg Jr. Independence, Iowa/Independence
Matt Seabold !$ 197 2nd place Central Sr. Burlington, Iowa/Burlington
Guy Patron Jr. 197 3rd place Loras Fr. Harvey, La./Jesuit
Lance Evans ! 285 1st place Wartburg Jr. Solon, Iowa/Iowa
Quin Gilliam ! 285 3rd place Loras So. Shreveport, La./C.E. Byrd
Colby Vlieger 285 4th place Simpson Sr. Des Moines, Iowa / Indianola
! – 2015-16 All-Conference
@ – 2015-16 MVP
# – 2015-16 Freshman of the Year
$ – 2014-15 All-Conference
% – 2014-15 MVP
^ – 2014-15 Freshman of the Year
& – 2013-14 All-Conference
* – 2013-14 MVP
~ – 2013-14 Freshman of the Year