Kenny Martin

Wartburg returns five All-Americans and six qualifiers from its 2016 NCAA championship team: Arnulfo Olea (125, 5th), Connor Campo (133, 7th), Kenny Martin (two-time defending National Champion at 149), Eric DeVos (174, 2nd), Bryan Levsen (184) and Lance Evans (285, 3rd). The Knights will have some new faces in the lineup replacing the three NCAA finalists who graduated in Drew Wagenhoffer, Nick Michael, and Gerard Roman.

Some major milestones are on the table this season for Wartburg. They have the opportunity to win its unprecedented 25th consecutive (and 35th overall) Iowa Conference Championship, a record seventh-straight NWCA national duals titles and 11th overall, a fifth-straight NCAA Central Regional title and the programs 13th NCAA Championship, which would be its ninth in the last 12 years. Wartburg has also won 188 consecutive duals against IIAC opponents, a streak that dates back to 1994.

Two-year starter at 141, junior Kaz Onoo, will be out for the year with a season-ending surgery. Sophomore Cross Cannone will be the front runner for his replacement as he returns from an outstanding freshman campaign.

Other newcomers include:

Connor Cleveland- (Two-time Iowa High School State Championships place winner: 2nd and 3rd)

Max Forsyth- (placed fourth at Iowa High School State Championships)

John Junk- (Ohio State Championships qualifier)

Shea Hartzler- (two-time Iowa High School State Championships place winner: 3rd and 1st)

Kyle Briggs- (three-time Iowa High School State Championships place winner: 7th, 8th, 5th)

Brian Burns- (placed sixth at Illinois High School State Championships)

Logan Thomsen- (Transfer)


One thought on “DIII Team Preview – Wartburg College”

Comments are closed.