All eyes will be on North Carolina this weekend as the prestigious Super 32 tournament takes place this Saturday and Sunday in Greensboro, North Carolina. Largely considered one of the toughest tournaments in the country, the Super 32 draws some of the nation’s top talent on an annual basis and is without a doubt the biggest preseason tournament as far as national accolades are concerned. All told in the tournament’s history only one Iowan has walked away with one of the famous Super 32 high school belts, which are awarded to each individual champion. In 2017 Mason City’s Cullan Schriever became the first high school wrestler to win a belt, though several wrestlers before and after have come close to winning their own.  Wrestling starts at 7:00 AM CT on both Saturday and will take place throughout most of the day with action wrapping up on Sunday – which also starts at 7:00 AM.

One of those wrestlers who just nearly missed out on winning a belt was 2018 runner-up Drake Ayala of Fort Dodge, who will look to return to the field this year at 120 pounds. At this point there is little doubt on just how good Ayala is as a national prospect. He’s won a Fargo freestyle national title in both the Cadet and Junior division, and took second a year ago in Greensboro. A title at this year’s Super 32 would go a long way in furthering the Fort Dodge wrestler’s legacy as one of the best Iowa preps in history.

But Ayala won’t be the only high octane lightweight to keep an eye on this weekend in North Carolina. A couple of other big names to watch will be competing in the 106 and 113-pound brackets. At 106 we will see BOB (Brandon O’Brien) of Linn-Mar look to continue his strong 2019 offseason. This past summer BOB was runner-up in freestyle and the national champion in Greco-Roman. He holds a top 15 ranking by both major ranking services.

Former elementary school champion Ryder Block will also be in the field at 106 pounds. Block who is enrolled at Waverly-Shell Rock is one of four Go-Hawk wrestlers registered for the tournament. When Block won his  title back in 2016 he was actually named the elementary division’s most outstanding wrestler.

At 113 we will see 2018 Cadet freestyle runner-up Carter Fousek in the field. Fousek is also rated top 15 by both Flowrestling and The Open Mat actually lists him in the top ten at #8. Another name to watch at this weight will be Southeast Polk freshman Nate Jesuroga, who was rated as one of the top incoming high school wrestlers in the entire country.

At 138 we will see a couple of other interesting names. For starters there is Union prep Jack Thomsen, who is currently the state’s top uncommitted senior. Jack’s older brother Max was runner-up at this tournament back in 2014. Another name to watch is breakout freshman Hayden Taylor.

Another Union prep Adam Ahrendsen will be competing at 160 and should be worth watching. The junior is considered one of the top prospects in the class of 2021.

McKinley Robbins 106 Greene County Schools 9th
Jaiden Moore 106 Don Bosco High School 10th
Camron Phetxoumphone 106 Webster City High School 10th 5
Ryder Block 106 Waverly-Shell Rock High School 9th
#10 #14 Brandon O’Brien 106 Linn-Mar High School 11th
Nathanael Jesuroga 106 Southeast Polk High School 9th
Keaton Zeimet 113 Central DeWitt High School 11th 3
Braden Graff 113 West Sioux 10th 3
Damon Huston 113 Midland 11th 3
#12 #8 Carter Fousek 113 Crestwood of Cresco 10th 1
Bailey Roybal 113 Waverly-Shell Rock High School 11th 5
#9 #5 Drake Ayala 120 Fort Dodge Senior High 11th 1
Stevie Ray Barnes 120 Underwood 10th 2
Garrett Funk 120 Don Bosco 10th
Jakob Whitinger 120 Nashua-Plainfield 12th 4
Cadin Herrmann 126 Waterloo East 10th
Logan Vallejo 126 Cedar Falls High School 11th
Adam Allard 126 West Sioux High School 11th 1
Michael McClelland 126 Don Bosco 11th 6
Aiden Riggins 126 Waverly – Shell Rock 10th 3
Aiden Evans 126 Bettendorf 12th 3
Isaiah Weber 126 Independence 10th 2
Logan James 132 Underwood High School 12th 2
Gabriel Lewis 138 Denver High School 12th 6
Hayden Taylor 138 Solon 10th 1
Jack Thomsen 138 Union High School 12th 1
Cael Rahnavardi 152 Don Bosco High School 11th 4
Cody Anderson 152 Waukee High School 12th 3
Evan Yant 152 Waverly Shellrock 12th 4
Adam Ahrendsen 160 Union Community 11th 2
Iowa State Commits
#20 #8 Zachary Redding 126 Eastport South-Manor, NY 12th 1
#11 #19 Cameron Robinson 152 Council Rock North, PA 12th 2

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle