It was a banner finish for Iowa State alums at yesterday’s Men’s Freestyle finals at the US Open in Las Vegas, Nevada. Cyclone-Regional Training Center’s Kyven Gadson was led the session off by winning the 97 kg title, and he was joined at the top of the podium by fellow Iowa State alum Pat Downey (86 kg).

This was a repeat performance for Gadson winning the 97 kg crown, this time taking out Benjamin Honis, 5-0. Gadson will now advance to a best-of-three finals at the World Team Trials. Likewise Pat Downey will also advance to the best-of-three finals for his weight after he defeated former Ohio State All-American Nicholas Heflin 10-4 in his finals bout.

One of the last wrestlers to take the mat for the Senior Men’s portion was two-time World Team member Gilman, who faced Oklahoma State’s Daton Fix in his US Open final. This was a rematch from last year’s Final X, but unlike their last meeting the Cowboy managed a late takedown to win the match late, 6-4.

Five wrestlers other with an Iowa tie have qualified for next month’s World Team Trials in Men’s freestyle. Three wrestlers from Iowa City’s Hawkeye Wrestling Club, one and two former All-Americans that wrestled in the state of Iowa placed seventh or better at USA Wrestling’s Senior US Open, which automatically qualifies them for next month’s Trials held in North Carolina.

The highest placing individual was HWC’s Sammy Brooks who took third at 86 kg defeating former Minnesota Gopher Brett Pfarr. Placing fifth was HWC duo Cory Clark (61 kg) and Brandon Sorensen (70 kg). Clark’s win came against former teammate Tony Ramos in the fifth place match. The pair also met earlier in the tournament in the quarterfinals in a match that was also won by Clark.

Rounding out the wrestlers advancing was former Iowa State All-American Earl Hall, who brought home a seventh place finish at 61 kg. Hall claimed the final World Team Trials qualifying spot by defeating high school junior Beau Bartlett 8-6.

2019 U.S. OPEN at South Point Arena, Las Vegas, Nev. Senior men’s freestyle results

57 kg

First- Daton Fix (TMWC) dec Thomas Gilman (TMWC) 8-4

Third- Zane Richards (TMWC) dec Vito Arujau (TMWC) 8-2

Fifth- Darian Cruz (NYAC/LVAC) win by forfeit Nathan Tomasello (TMWC)

Seventh- Frank Perrelli (TMWC) dec Zach Sanders (Minnesota Storm) 2-1


61 kg

First- Cody Brewer (TMWC) fall Nico Megaludis (TMWC) 3:32

Third -Joey Palmer (unattached) dec Tyler Graff (TMWC) 2-2

Fifth- Cory Clark (TMWC) dec Anthony Ramos (Sunkist Kids) 7-4

Seventh- Earl Hall (TMWC) dec Beau Bartlett (Sunkist Kids) 8-6


65 kg

First- Yianni Diakomihalis (TMWC) dec Zain Retherford (NLWC) 6-4

Third- Jayson Ness (Minnesota Storm) fall Frank Molinaro (TMWC) 1:45

Fifth- Jaydin Eierman (TMWC) win by forfeit Jordan Oliver (Sunkist Kids)

Seventh- Kanen Storr (TMWC) win by forfeit BJ Futrell (TMWC)


70 kg

First- Ryan Deakin (TMWC) dec James Green (Sunkist Kids) 8-6

Third- Jason Nolf (NLWC) dec Alec Pantaleo (Michigan) 10-6

Fifth- Brandon Sorenson (TMWC) win by forfeit over Nazar Kulchytskyy (TMWC

Seventh- Jason Chamberlain (TMWC) TF Anthony Collica (TMWC) 11-0


74 kg

First- Isaiah Martinez (TMWC/ IRTC) dec Thomas Gantt (TMWC/ WOLFPACK WC), 6-4

Third- Anthony Valencia (Sunkist Kids) dec. Logan Massa (Michigan) 4-4

Fifth- Brian Murphy (NYAC/NJRTC) TF Dan Vallimont (NYAC) 10-0

Seventh-Jared Frayer (TWMC) TF Quinton Godley (TMWC) 15-4


79 kg

First- Alex Dieringer (TMWC/ Cowboy RTC) TF Chance Marsteller (TMWC/ LVWC), 11-0

Third- Nick Becker (AWA) TF Matthew Finesliver (BBWC) 11-0

Fifth- Geno Morelli (NLWC) TF Stacey Davis (TMWC) 17-5

Seventh- Ben Harvey (West Point) dec CJ Brucki (NJRTC) 10-4


86 kg

First- Pat Downey (TMWC/ NJRTC) dec Nicholas Heflin (TMWC/ OKRTC), 10-4

Third- Sammy Brooks (NYAC/HWC) dec Brett Pfarr (Minnesota Storm) 7-3

Fifth- Nate Jackson (NYAC/NJRTC) win by forfeit Myles Martin (TMWC)

Seventh- Kenneth Courts (TMWC) win by forfeit Maxwell Dean (TMWC)


92 kg

First- Bo Nickal (NLWC) TF Hayden Zilmer (Minnesota Storm) 13-3

Third- Michael Macchiavello (TMWC) win by medical forfeit TJ Dudley (TMWC)

Fifth- Kollin Moore (tOSU) TF Riley Lefever (NLWC) 15-4

Seventh- Timmy McCall (TMWC) dec Scottie Boykin (TMWC) 8-6


97 kg

First – Kyven Gadson (Sunkist Kids Wrestling Club) dec Benjamin Honis (TMWC/ FLWC), 5-0

Third- Danny Chaid (CRTC) dec Ty Walz (TMWC) 5-5

Fifth- Kevin Beazley (NYAC/CKWC) win by forfeit Michael Boykin (TMWC)

Seventh- Wynn Michalak (TMWC) dec Jeremiah Imonode (West Point RTC) 3-2


125 kg

First- Adam Coon (New York AC) dec. Tony Nelson (Gopher WC), 5-2 

Third- Dom Bradley (Sunkist Kids) dec Derek White (TMWC) 3-3

Fifth- Youssif Hemida (TWC) Fall Tate Orndorff (UVRTC) 1:14

Seventh- Garrett Ryan (Sunkist Kids) win by forfeit James Romero (Adams State)

Div. I Team Champions – 1. Titan Mercury WC, 183
Div. II Team Champions – 1. Sunkist Kids, 34; 2. New York AC, 29
Bill Farrell Award (all three styles) – 1. Titan Mercury WC 136, 2. New York AC 122
RTC Cup -1. Hawkeye WC, 82.5; 2. Minnesota Storm, 74.5

(Cover photo by John Sachs-Tech Fall)

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle