Who: #17 UNI (5-5, 5-1) vs Utah Valley (9-11, 0-5)
Where: Lockhart Arena | Orem, Utah
When: 8 PM Friday, Saturday 9, 2019
Watch: WAC Digital Network
Stats: TrackWrestling

The University of Northern Iowa wraps up the away portion of their dual wrestling season this Saturday at Utah Valley in Orem, Utah. The Wolverines come limping into this one after having suffered a 53-0 loss at Iowa State last Sunday. UVU has not won a match yet in Big 12 wrestling this season.

There are some potential ranked matches for the dual at 141, 165, and 174 pounds, but we don’t know who we’ll see take the mat for UVU. The Wolverines have been hit hard by injuries this year, including all four of their ranked wrestlers. Whether or not their healthy enough to go on Saturday is the key to whether or not they’ll even have a chance in the match; on Sunday UVU forfeited both 133 and 184 pounds … so we’ll see. And according to the UNI release on the dual, UVU has no wrestler listed at 141, so they are already in a 6-0 hole.

As it sits now the only way UNI will lose this dual, similar to the SDSU dual, is if the bus breaks down on the way to the arena and the squad can’t trek through the mountains to get there. UNI Head Coach talked about the dual a little bit at his weekly press conference on Monday:

Anyway, this should be a good win for the Panthers. It would be great to see them get the shutout so we can talk about who’s shutout was better between ISU’s and UNI’s, but that might be a little unrealistic.

As always, we’ll have a Rapid Recap with the dual results on Saturday night, as well as all the fun commentary you can handle on our Twitter feed, so make sure you check us out Saturday night.

#17 UNI 
125: Jay Schwarm
133: Jack Skudlarczyk
141: #3 Josh Alber
149: #10 Max Thomsen
157: Paden Moore or Pat Schoenfelder
165: #9 Bryce Steiert
174: #6 Taylor Lujan
184: #6 Drew Foster
197: Tyrell Gordon
285: Carter Isley or Izaak Shedenhelm

Utah Valley
125: Josh Jensen
133: Isaiah Delgado or Dylan Gregerson
141: Open
149: Cameron Haddock or Landon Knutzen
157: Spencer Heywood
165: #10 Demetrius Romero or Koy Wilkinson
174: #12 Kimball Bastian or Kyle Snelling
184: Will Sumner
197: #16 Tanner Orndorff or Ashton Seely
285: Tate Orndorff or Benjamin Andrew