Cleveland, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced today the Distinguished Scholar Athletes from the eight winter sports during this 2016-17 academic season as 208 students were voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions representing the ‘best of the best’ from each sports Academic All-MAC Teams. Wrestling had 11 selections based on the criteria below.

Dylan PetersSenior Dylan Peters and redshirt freshman Max Thomsen were announced, along with the rest of the conference Thursday. Peters wrapped up his career as a two-time All-American for UNI, while Thomsen finished 7th this season to earn his first All-American status.

The Distinguished Scholar Athlete is a third-year award given to students who have excelled in athletics and academics.  Following each season from the winter sports schedule, any student with a 3.20 GPA and participation in at least 50 percent of the contests was automatically named to the previously announced Academic All-MAC Team from each sport.  Also, first-year students, junior college and graduate school transfers in their first year of residence were not eligible for the award.

From the Academic All-MAC Teams, the faculty athletic representatives selected the ‘best of the best’ of our Academic All-MAC Teams to be honored with Distinguished Scholar Athlete Award for the 2016-17 season.  The number of Distinguished Scholar Athletes from each sport were equivalent to the number of first-team selections or 33% of nominees, whichever was greater.

Later this spring, the MAC will announce the Distinguished Scholar Athletes from the eight spring sports sponsored by the Conference.

2016-17 MAC Wrestling Distinguished Scholar Athletes (11):
Kyle Akins, Buffalo, Sophomore, 3.34 GPA, Occupational Therapy (Sycamore, Ill.)
CJ Brucki, Central Michigan, Junior, 3.20 GPA, Accounting (Orland Park, Ill.)
Austin Severn, Central Michigan, Senior, 3.57 GPA, Information Systems (New Lothrop, Mich.)
Newton Smerchek, Central Michigan, Junior, 3.99 GPA, Physical Education (Casco, Wis.)
Mason Smith, Central Michigan, R-Freshman, 3.73 GPA, Undecided (Clio, Mich.)
Anthony Tutolo, Kent State, Junior, 3.60 GPA, Communication Studies (Concord, Ohio)
John Erneste, Missouri, Sophomore, 3.762 GPA, Mathematics (Kansas City, Mo.)
*Zach Synon, Missouri, Senior, 3.519 GPA, Business Administration (Cary, Ill.)
Dylan Peters, Northern Iowa, Senior, 3.21 GPA, Movement and Exercise Science (Denver, Iowa)
Max Thomsen, Northern Iowa, R-Freshman, 3.21 GPA, Management (LaPorte City, Iowa)
^Kevin Beazley, Old Dominion, Junior, 3.37 GPA, Sport Management (Howell, Mich.)

*2015-16 Distinguished Scholar Athlete
^2014-15 Distinguished Scholar Athlete