The 2016 Freestyle and Greco-Roman National Duals will be held in York, Pennsylvania and Team Iowa will look to build off their 2015 performance that saw two top eight finishes. The Duals will begin on June 15th and will be contested over four days.

2015 Team Results
Greco: 7th
Freestyle Team 1: 6th
Freestyle Team 2: 19th

2013/14 Team Results
Did not attend

After not bringing a team to the 2013 and 2014 National Duals, some might say that the 2015 team was a coming out party of sorts putting together two teams that managed to qualify for the championship pool, therefore securing a top eight finish. While last year’s teams were stocked with talent, this year’s Cadet team might be filled with even bigger names.

For starters the team is getting some key wrestlers from last’s years Schoolboy/girl team that should make an immediate impact. Cullan Schriever (a name that gets mentioned frequently on IA Wrestle) was 16-0 in Freestyle/Greco combined as a Schoolboy and should be an absolute nightmare at 88 pounds next week.

Additionally Adam Allard (11-5 on last year’s Schoolboy/girl team), Cael Happel (9-4), and Cade DeVos (15-1) are three other big names that are making their presence known early on in their Cadet careers.

Iowa is sending just one Greco team, which will feature the combination of what will later be broken into two freestyle teams. Freestyle Team 1 looks to be the strongest, with Schriever, Allard, and Happel manning three of the team first four weights (state runner-up Eric Faught also in that front four). Following them will be 2016 Oregon state champion Legend Lamer and two-time Iowa state champion Brody Teske at 113 and 120 respectively.

The team also features 2016 high school state medalists Gabe Ruepke, Harlan Steffensmeir, Zane Mulder, Garrett Thompson, Tad Griffith, Logan Schumacher, and Spencer Trenary. Team 1 wrestlers who were state qualifiers are Shawn Brown and Hunter DeJong.

Only Nick Milder (170) and Guy Snow (220) did not compete at the 2016 IHSAA state tournament. Though Snow was the freestyle Cadet state champion and Milder took third at his weight.

Team 2 features 2016 state medalists Gable Fox, Matt Robertson, Lucas Roland, and Kaleb Reeves and state qualifier Tate Battani. Every other wrestler on the Team 2 roster was a freestyle state medalist except for heavyweight Justin Jones.

Greco Greco Extras Freestyle 1 Freestyle 2
88 Cullan Schriever Cullan Schriever
94 Adam Allard Daniel Kimball Adam Allard Daniel Kimball
100 Eric Faught Cody Anderson Eric Faught Cody Anderson
106 Cael Happel Cael Happel Logan James
113 Legend Lamer Gable Fox Legend Lamer Gable Fox
120 Cade Devos Brody Teske Brody Teske Cade Devos
126 Gabriel Ruepke Gabriel Ruepke Kayden Kauzalrich
132 Matthew Jordan Garret Thompson Garret Thompson Matthew Jordan
138 Harlan Steffensmeier Harlan Steffensmeier Tate Battani
145 Lucas Roland Zane Mulder Zane Mulder Lucas Roland
152 Shawn Brown Shawn Brown Jacob Herrmann
160 Thaddeus Breitsprecker Tad Griffith Tad Griffith Thaddeus Breitsprecker
170 Ashton Stumpf Nick Milder Ashton Stumf
182 Logan Schumacher Tyrell Gordon Logan Schumacher Tyrell Gordon
195 Kaleb Reeves Hunter DeJong Hunter DeJong Kaleb Reeves
220 Guy Snow Andrew Snyder Guy Snow Andrew Snyder
HWT Spencer Trenary Spencer Trenary Justin Jones

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

3 thoughts on “2016 Iowa Cadet National Duals Roster”

Comments are closed.