Where: Ames, IA, Hilton Coliseum

When: Saturday, December 12th, 2 pm

Who: UR Wyoming Cowboys


The Iowa State Cyclones open up their 2015 conference schedule by wrestling the Wyoming Cowboys. This past year the Big 12 merged with the Western Regional; thus gaining 6 teams. Those 6 teams include Air Force, Northern Colorado, Utah Valley State, North Dakota State, South Dakota State and Wyoming. This will be the 15th meeting between the Cyclones and Cowboys; with the Cyclones holding a 13-1 edge. The Wyoming Cowboys are coached by former Oklahoma State standout Mark Branch. Of note; Branch is the last unseeded wrestler to win a national championship.

The Cowboys feature 3 ranked wrestlers; 174 pounder Ben Stroh, 141 pounder Bryce Meredith and Heavyweight Tanner Harms. Stroh garners a #13 ranking, Meredith a #15 slot while Harms grabs a #20 ranking.The Cowboys last competed 3 weekends ago when they were defeated at Nebraska by a 35-4 score. Meanwhile the Cyclones still hold 4 ranked wrestlers in the rankings with #7 Earl Hall, #14 Tanner Weatherman, #17 Gabe Moreno and #17 Lelund Weatherspoon. Iowa State is coming off a 19th place finish at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invite; where Weatherman placed 7th and Hall placed 4th.

Tentative Lineups:

125: Drew Templeman vs. Kyle Larson

133: Gunnar Woodburn / P.T. Garcia vs. #7 Earl Hall

141: #15 Bryce Meredith vs. Dante Rodriguez

149: Jake Elliot vs. #17 Gabriel Moreno

157: Archie Colgan vs. Logan Breitenbach

165: Kyle Pope / Chaz Polson vs. #14 Tanner Weatherman

174: #13 Ben Stroh vs. #17 Lelund Weatherspoon

184: Jace Jensen vs. Dane Pestano

197: Brandon Tribble vs. Duke Egli

285: #20 Tanner Harms vs. Joe Scanlan / Quean Smith