Sebolt Wrestling Academy finishes their weekend with a 6-1 record in Georgia at the Elite Eight Duals. The Iowa based squad more than held their own against the All-Star squads assembled for this event. Sebolt was in control of most of their contests, with the exception being against the Minion Legends team in Sunday’s finals.

To start Sebolt’s run the team jumped out to a fast start in Pool play by winning all 15 matches against CMP United to pile up a 60-4 score (as a reminder for folks: in freestyle if your opponent is able to score any points, even in a loss they score one team dual point).

In their second dual Sebolt rolled to a 46-16 win over Vision Quest and saw four of their wrestlers win a ranked head-to-head match. Dru Ayala (#17 Carson Dupill), Ryder Block (#16 Nash Singleton), and Ben Kueter (#20 Levid Rodriguez) all won by tech fall against their opponent. Joel Jesuroga won 702 against #15 Collin Dupill.

Their third dual against the Black Mambas which they came out on top of 43-25. The two noteworthy matches in that dual occurred at 126, where Underwood, Iowa’s Gable Porter came out on top of his match against two-time state champion Carter Freeman. Aiden Riggins also picked up a 6-3 win over #8 Tyler Lillard in that dual.

Sebolt made it 4-0 after a 35-23 win over Roundtree. The biggest moment was when #6 Jake Crapps pinned Nate Jesuroga in what was considered a bit of a surprise. Jesuroga will look to make some adjustments to prepare to make his run at a second Cadet World team later this Spring.

After rolling 51-17 against Team Cali, Sebolt posted a 40-25 win over Beast Coast. Of note from that dual was Block taking out #15 Vince Bouzakis, Joel Jesuroga beat #6 Kal Miller, Riggins teched #9 Simon Ruiz, and Kueter beat #8 Martin Cosgrove.

That setup the Sebolt-Minions final where Sebolt came out on the losing end of a 34-33 dual.

Kale Peterson stepped in at 120 pounds and beat a solid Cole Hunt. While Hunt may not be ranked, he is certainly on the fringes and is a solid victory for the Greene County wrestler.

That allowed Nate Jesuroga to try and bump up and take on #2 ranked Troy Spratley in a bid that was unsuccessful.

Minions also managed to negate two more of Sebolt’s higher caliber wrestlers at 132 and 145 pounds respectively. #1 Nic Bouzakis beat Block while #1 Cody Chittum defeated Joel Jesuroga.

That’s not to say that Sebolt didn’t land blows of their own to the Minions squad. Riggins posted another ranked win, this time over #19 Nick Vafiadis, Bradley Hill pinned #2 Sonny Sasso, and Kueter beat #12 Carter Neves.

All things considered, this is an extremely impressive performance for a single club to put on a field that consisted of All-Star teams. The lone wrestler to not come from Sebolt’s club was heavyweight Jake Walker – but 14 out of the 15 are Sebolt Trained.

Also of note Carter Pearson, Riggins, and Kueter all finished their weekend a perfect 7-0, while Ayala, Block, Jacob Frost, and Joel Jesuroga were 6-1.

Porter finished his weekend 6-1 posting three ranked wins for the Black Mambas

Round 1:

Sebolt – 60 CMP United – 4
100 Carter Pearson VS0 10-0 Dylan Villers
106 Dru Ayala VS0 10-0 Mason Moody
113 Reid Spurley VS0 10-0 Allen Calderon
120 Nate Jesuruga VS0 10-0 Bentley Ellison
126 Carter Freeman VS0 10-0 Hudson Waldrop
132 Ryder Block VFALL Brian Papcun
138 Jacob Frost VFALL Reece Jones
145 Joel Jesuroga VP0 Sam Harris
152 Carter Martinson VP1 8-6 Seth Larson
160 Aiden Riggins VS0 10-0 Elijah Brown
170 Hayden Taylor VS1 12-2 Keenan Wyatt
182 Griff Gammell VS1 16-5 Kennedy Wyatt
195 Bradley Hill VS0 10-0 Patrick Brophy
220 Ben Kueter VS0 10-0 Connor Milhorn
HWT Jake Walker VS1 15-4 Will Cox

Round 2:

Vision Quest – 16
Sebolt – 46
100 Liam Davis Carter Pearson VS0 10-0
106 Carson Dupill Dru Ayala VS0 10-0
113 Cooper Shore VS0 10-0 Reid Spurley
120 Drew Gorman Nate Jesuruga VP1 7-3
126 Zeno Moore Carter Freeman VS1 16-6
Nash Singleton
Ryder Block VS1 13-2
138 JJ McComas Jacob Frost VS0 10-0
145 Collin Dupill Joel Jesuroga VP1 7-2
152 Joe Sealey VS1 13-2
Carter Martinson
160 Jed Wester Aiden Riggins VS0 10-0
170 Jake Jones VP0 Hayden Taylor
Kingsley Menifee
Griff Gammell VP1 8-6
195 Dustin Gue Bradley Hill VS0 10-0
Levid Rodriquez
Ben Kueter VS0 10-0
Nathan Carnes
Jake Walker VS0 10-0

Round 3:

Black Mambas – 25
Sebolt – 43
100 Mikey Lopez Carter Pearson VS0 10-0
106 Declan Strait Dru Ayala VS1 14-2
113 Ty Tice Reid Spurley VS1 17-6
Sefton Douglas
Nate Jesuruga VFALL
126 Gable Porter VS1 14-4
Carter Freeman
132 Jeremy Ginter Ryder Block VS1 16-6
Jacob Bostleman
Jacob Frost VS0 10-0
145 Weston Dalton Joel Jesuroga VP1 3-1
152 Ladarion Lockett VP1 11-6
Carter Martinson
160 Ty Lillard Aiden Riggins VP1 6-3
170 Darion Johnson VP1 7-1 Hayden Taylor
182 RJ May VFALL Griff Gammell
Geoffrey Freeman
Bradley Hill VS0 10-0
220 Tony Olea Ben Kueter VFALL
HWT Matthew Moore VFALL Jake Walker

Round 4:

Roundtree – 23
Sebolt – 35
Haakon Peterson
Carter Pearson VP0
106 Bryson Terrell Dru Ayala VP1 17-11
113 Draegen Orine VS0 10-0 Reid Spurley
120 Jake Crapps VFALL Nate Jesuruga
126 Omar Ayoub VP1 10-9
Carter Freeman
132 Amantee Mills Ryder Block VS0 10-0
138 Brock Herman VS0 10-0 Jacob Frost
Jeremiah Price
Joel Jesuroga VP1 3-1
Dominic Bambinelli
Carter Martinson VP1 12-9
160 Tyler Secoy Aiden Riggins VS0 10-0
170 Aidan Bernot Carson Martinson VP1 10-7
182 Devon Bell Griff Gammell VFALL
195 Sawyer Bartelt VP1 9-4 Bradley Hill
Nick Pavlechko
Ben Kueter VS0 10-0
HWT Jamier Ferere VP1 16-10 Jake Walker

Round 5:

Sebolt – 51 Team Cali – 17
100 Carter Pearson VS0 10-0
Ayden Thomas
106 Dru Ayala WFF FF
113 Reid Spurley Tyler Washburn VP1 13-6
120 Nate Jesuruga VS1 12-2 Matt Rowland
Carter Freeman
Casen Roark VP1 10-10
132 Ryder Block VS0 10-0 Nate Askew
138 Jacob Frost VS1 11-1 Hunter Sturgill
145 Joel Jesuroga WFF FF
Carter Martinson
Brendon Abdon VS0 10-0
160 Aiden Riggins VS0 10-0 Micah Porter
Carson Martinson
Kam Munro VS0 10-0
182 Griff Gammell WFF FF
195 Bradley Hill VFALL Sonny Kling
220 Ben Kueter VFALL Will Caneer
HWT Jake Walker VS1 12-2 Nate Glass

Round 6:

Beast Coast – 25 Sebolt – 40
100 FF Carter Pearson WFF
106 Jayden James VS1 12-1 Dru Ayala
113 Christian Fretwell Reid Spurley VP1 13-7
120 Miles Anderson Nate Jesuruga VS1 14-4
126 Landon Robideau VS0 10-0 Carter Freeman
132 Vince Bouzakis Ryder Block VS1 14-4
138 Devin Stone Jacob Frost VS0 10-0
145 Kal Miller Joel Jesuroga VP1 4-4
152 Andy Troczynski VS0 10-0 Carter Martinson
160 Simon Ruiz Aiden Riggins VS0 10-0
170 Danny Wask VS0 10-0 Carson Martinson
182 Ben Valdez Andrew Reed VS0 10-0
195 TJ Stewart VS0 10-0 Bradley Hill
220 Martin Cosgrove Ben Kueter VP1 10-4
HWT Caleb Pruitt Jake Walker VFALL

Round 7:

Sebolt – 33
Minion Legends – 34
100 Carter Pearson VSO
Lincoln Sledzianowski
106 Dru Ayala VSP Antonio Mills
113 Reid Spurley Jax Forrest VS1
120 Kale Peterson VS1 Cole Hunt
126 Nate Jesuruga Troy Sprately VP1
132 Ryder Block Nic Bouzakis VS1
138 Jacob Frost VP1 Sammy Shires
145 Joel Jesuroga Cody Chittum VSO
Carter Martinson
Michael Kilic VP1
160 Aiden Riggins VSO Nick Vafiadis
Carson Martinson
Gunner Flipowitz VS1
182 Griff Gammell Matty Singleton VSO
195 Bradley Hill VFALL Sonny Sasso
220 Ben Kueter VS1 Carter Neves
HWT Jake Walker Nolan Neves VP1

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle