The Iowa All-Star Team is returning to Pittsburgh to compete in the 44th Annual Pittsburgh Wrestling Classic on Sunday, March 25, 2018, at the University of Pittsburgh Fitzgerald Field House.

The Wrestling Classic – known as “The Rose Bowl of Wrestling” – is the most prestigious high school all-star wrestling meet in the United States because it attracts the best high school seniors in the country, Pennsylvania and another guest state all-star team in the two dual meet format. The preliminary meet pits the best wrestlers from Western Pennsylvania, or WPIAL, against the Iowa All-Stars at 4:00 PM.

The feature match showcases the best-of the-best high school wrestlers from across the United States challenging the reigning Pennsylvania state champs at 6:00 PM.

The Iowa All-Star Team is returning to the Classic for the second time in 33 years. In 1985, Classic XI the Iowa All Star team won 7 of the 12 matches defeating the WPIAL 28-13. Chris Geneser from West Des Moines was selected the outstanding wrestler of the Iowa team.

The Wrestling Classic fans have watched many great wrestlers hail from Iowa over the past 43 years, including Joe Gibbons (1981), Tim Krieger (1989), Jeff McGinnis (1993), Tolly Tompson (1991), Eric Juergens (1996), and Trent Paulson (2002).

In Classic XIX, McGinnis entered The Classic with an unblemished record and 4 state titles. The Jeff McGinnis versus Tom Tomeo match was one of the more memorable matches in Classic history being decided by a Tomeo takedown in overtime. McGinnis went on to win a national title for Iowa in 1998.

Three years later in Classic XXII, Juergens put his 4 state titles on the line against Jeremy Hunter. The crowd showed their appreciation for the talent both young men displayed with Hunter prevailing in a hard fought 8-3 victory. Juergens and Hunter both went on to win a national title for their schools, Iowa and Penn State, respectfully.

Iowa All-Stars vs WPIAL All-Stars  

113 Grayson Kesterson Williamsburg Iowa vs. Frankie Bonura Moon
120 Kyle Biscoglia Waukee Iowa vs. Louis Newell Seneca Valley
126 Drew Bennett Fort Dodge Iowa vs. Caleb Morris Waynesburg
132 Zach Price Johnston Iowa vs. Noah Levett Kiski Area
138 Michael Blockhus Cresco Iowa vs. Tyler Griffiths Southmoreland
145 Ryan Steffen Cresco Iowa vs. Luke Kemerer Hempfield
152 Grant Stotts West Moines Iowa vs. Corey Christie Burrell
160 Josh Ramirez Dubuque Iowa vs. Seth Gates Burrell
170 Ben Sarasin Cedar Rapids Iowa vs. Jesse Quatse Greensburg Salem
182 Joel Shapiro West Des Moines Iowa vs. Tim Wallace Albert Gallatin
195 Bryce Esmoil West Liberty Iowa vs. Nate Ansell Connellsville
220 Boone McDermott Dubuque Iowa vs. Ian Edenfield Laurel Highlands
285 Caleb Sanders Glenwood Iowa vs. Gerald Brown West Mifflin