earl hall cyclones

Iowa State will send 19 of its team members to the Grand View open this Saturday; while the starters will head north to dual South Dakota State on Friday and North Dakota State on Sunday. Leading the Cyclones into the Grandview open will be returning All-American Earl Hall. Hall was granted an extra year of eligibility and as part of that deal he is to miss the first three competitions; thus Hall will be wrestling unattached.

Also making their Cyclone debuts will be the highly touted freshman class which was ranked in the top 3 by almost any wrestling outlet. Ian Parker (133), Kanen Storr (141), and Danny Vega (125)  will all be making their college debuts Saturday in Des Moines. Of note; 4 time Oregon state champion and double Fargo champ Sammy Colbray (197) is not currently listed; suggesting that he may be getting his redshirt pulled and making his debut as starter after Marcus Harrington appeared injured in their wrestle off last Friday. With Northern Iowa bringing their whole squad; and Iowa bringing many of their backups it should be a good testament to how college ready the freshman really are.

There should be plenty of  other action to keep an eye on for the Cyclones in Des Moines on Saturday as well. Markus Simmons has made the cut down to 125 pounds; and will be wrestling attached for the Cyclones. Simmons impressed many last year when he won the Grandview open at 133; and nearly defeated All American Earl Hall in their wrestle off. The cut does not figure to be an easy one for Simmons; but can he make the weight comfortably he figures to be a real threat. The Cyclones will also send senior Drake Swam and redshirts Danny Vega and Brendan Baker.  A Vega vs. Simmons match could be telling for future Iowa State squads.

Contesting with Hall at 133 will be this years 132 pound Fargo champ Ian Parker. Parker was a top 100 recruit by almost any ranking; and figures to be an instrumental piece in the cyclones lineup. 133 could get interesting in Des Moines with UNI starter Josh Alber currently pre-registered and redshirt phenom Rudy Yates also in the field.

At 141 the Cyclones will bring redshirts Briar Cochran and Kanen Storr. Cochran won the 138 pound 1a title and Storr was a 3 time Michigan state champ and Fargo runner-up. The Cyclones will also bring unattached wrestlers Cris Lopez and Anthony Wesley. With the absence of Redshirt seniors John Meeks and Gabe Moreno; it would be safe to assume that both are making the trip north.

At 149 Cyclone redshirt Gavin DeWitt will make his Cyclone debut, and redshirt freshman Chase Straw has made the cut down after wrestling 157 most of last season. Straw was in competition for the start spot and was tied with Blayne Briceno late in their wrestle off before being pancaked and pinned. A strong performance from Straw could make a case for him starting.

At 157 & 165 Redshirt freshman Zemua Baptista will make his debut; along with redshirt senior Trevor Paulson. Baptista wrestled a hard-fought 7-5 loss to last years starter Renaldo Rodriguez-Spencer in the wrestle off; and is seen as a diamond in the rough by many after placing at Fargo this summer with little Greco experience. Paulson has seen a career of injuries and hopes to stay healthy for his senior campaign.

At 174 the Cyclones will send out redshirt freshman Hank Swalla, Dale Hilleman and Luke Entzel; with redshirt senior Max Krieger also in the mix. Swalla won a wrestle off last week over Krieger via 6-1 decision; and placed 5th at last years National Collegiate Open. Luke Entzel was a 3 time Montana State champ; and looks to start his season strong. Hilleman will be making his Cyclone debut after an achilles injury plagued his entire freshman season.

Last but not least the Cyclones will send a pair of heavyweights to the Open; with redshirt freshman and Ballard state champion Alex Silverstein and redshirt freshman Andrew Stowe. Action will start in Des Moines right at 9 pm Central Time.

Iowa State Entry List:

Team Last Name Weight Class
Iowa State University Baker 125
Iowa State University Baptista 157
Iowa State University Cochran 141
Iowa State University DeWitt 149
Iowa State University Entzel 174
Iowa State University Hall 133
Iowa State University Hilleman 174
Iowa State University Krieger 174
Iowa State University Lopez 141
Iowa State University Parker 133
Iowa State University Paulson 165
Iowa State University Silberstein 285
Iowa State University Simmons 133
Iowa State University Storr 141
Iowa State University Stowe 285
Iowa State University Straw 149
Iowa State University Swalla 174
Iowa State University Swarm 125
Iowa State University Vega 125
Iowa State University Wesley 141