#4 Thomas Gilman (Iowa) 28-1 vs #3 Nico Megaludis (Penn State)

This is the rematch of the Big Ten Title, where Megaludis won 4-3 in the tiebreakers, when Gilman tried to hit a headlock but Megaludis got around for the takedown. I would expect another pretty tame match through 2.5 periods, with not a lot of points scored, and probably another overtime match. Gilman got the pinfall win against Tomasello in the semi, but I wouldn’t expect that against the Nittany Lion. Gilman will need to finish his single legs, something he didn’t do in the Big Ten title match, to bring home the national title. These two are really evenly matched.


#2 Cory Clark (Iowa) 26-1 vs #1 Nahshon Garrett

Garrett got big attention by pinning the defending national champion in just 21 seconds to reach the finals undefeated on the year. Clark took about the opposite path, winning with a takedown in the final ten seconds against #3 Zane Richards from Illinois. Clark will (hopefully) be a bit more ready than Brewer was off the first whistle, and should be able to do a  good job of fending off Garrett’s attacks. If Clark can finish his shots and score early I like him to win.


#2 Brandon Sorensen (Iowa) 29-1 vs #1 Zain Retherford (Penn State) 33-0

This was another match that the number one seed seemed to cruse through, as Zain Retherford didn’t have any trouble with Michigan’s Alec Pantaleo, pinning him in 4:49 but having a 8-1 lead before that. Sorensen didn’t get his offense going until the second period, where he scored the match’s only takedown. This sets up as another Big Ten title rematch, where Retherford won 4-0. Sorensen will need to be much more offensive in order to win the national championship.