The Cyclones are heading home from the Virginia Duals with some extra hardware, after the team put together a 4-0 weekend en route to a team title downing Virginia Tech 16-14 in the finals. In addition to winning the tournament, senior 165 pound wrestler Tanner Weatherman earned the trophy for the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler. Weatherman was 4-0 winning his matches by disqualification, major, fall, and then decision.

Fans who have been paying close to the Cyclone season will remember that it was these same Virgina Tech Hokies that opened Iowa State’s season on a sour note with a 32-3 defeat in Virginia. The Cyclones were able to flip the script in this meeting, including a big 8-6 victory by Marcus Harrington at 197 pounds. Harrington was a well documented addition to the Cyclone lineup and in his first weekend of dual action has certainly provided a boost to the lineup.

Earl Hall was the only Cyclone to earn a victory in the November meeting between the two teams and he was once again victorious this time over Dennis Gustafson by a score of 6-5 at 133 pounds.

In the first dual meeting Logan Breitenbach was downed by All-American Nick Brascetta, but with the senior missing from the Virginia Tech lineup, Breitenbach was able to get a big 12-7 win over Jake Spengler. The Breitenbach win would be key, as it kicked off a three match run to give the Cyclones their first lead of the dual.

Weatherman followed up Breitenbach by scoring a revenge victory 4-1 against freshman David McFadden. In the previous meeting McFadden won 4-3 over Weatherman.

That led into 174 pounds where Lelund Weatherspoon won 12-4 against Cody Hughes in what was the duals only bonus victory for either team. The gave the Cyclones a 13-8 lead.

Harrington’s win over Austin Gabel ended up providing the dual’s clinching points as Virginia Tech’s heavyweight Ty Walz was unable to earn a fall, which would have been the only way for the Hokies to win the dual outright.

Match #2 1st Place Match: Iowa State University defeated Virginia Tech University 16-14
125 – Joey Dance (Virginia Tech University) over Kyle Larson (Iowa State University) Dec 6-1
133 – Earl Hall (Iowa State University) over Dennis Gustafson (Virginia Tech University) Dec 6-5
141 – Soloman Chishko (Virginia Tech University) over John Meeks (Iowa State University) Dec 6-2
149 – Sal Mastriani (Virginia Tech University) over Gabe Moreno (Iowa State University) Dec 6-3
157 – Logan Breitenbach (Iowa State University) over Jake Spengler (Virginia Tech University) Dec 12-7
165 – Tanner Weatherman (Iowa State University) over David McFadden (Virginia Tech University) Dec 4-1
174 – Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State University) over Cody Hughes (Virginia Tech University) Maj 12-4
184 – Zack Zavatsky (Virginia Tech University) over Dane Pestano (Iowa State University) Dec 3-0
197 – Marcus Harrington (Iowa State University) over Austin Gabel (Virginia Tech University) Dec 8-6
285 – Ty Walz (Virginia Tech University) over Joe Scanlan (Iowa State University) Dec 10-3
Virginia Tech University’s team score was adjusted by -1.000 for tech

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle