When: Friday & Saturday, January 2-3, 2015
Where: Rochester, MN –  University Center Rochester Field House (Rochester Community and Technical College
Follow: Trackwrestling, FLO, The Open Mat and IAwrestle

The Clash is a national high school wrestling tournament held annually in Rochester, Minnesota. 32 of the best high school wrestling teams from around the country will gather at Rochester Community & Technical College on January 2nd & 3rd, 2015 for this unique two-day, dual-format wrestling tournament.

During the first day Qualification Tournament on Friday, teams will be seeded and placed into one of four standard 8-team brackets. Two of these brackets will compete in a morning session consisting of matches at 9am, 11am, and 1pm. The other two brackets will compete at 4pm, 6pm, and 8pm. The three matches will determine each team’s placing in the second day’s round-robin championship brackets.

During the second day Championship Tournament, each of the 4 teams that win their qualifying tournament will be placed together in a round-robin Division 1 group to determine positions 1 through 4 in the tournament. The four runner-up teams from the qualification tournament will be placed together in the Division 2 group to determine positions 5-8 and so on. Groups 5-8 will wrestling Saturday morning while brackets 1-4 will wrestle Saturday afternoon. Therefore, a team that wins its first match on Friday will wrestle Saturday afternoon.

There will be four teams in each of these eight second-day pools. The winner of each of these pools will receive a beautiful championship trophy. The second-place team in each of the pools will receive a runner-up trophy. There are no awards for the third and fourth place teams, even in the top pool.

We will break down each of the duals that feature an Iowa team next week. I will be traveling to Rochester to cover the Iowa action. Make sure you follow us on twitter at @hagertony and @IAwrestle.

The Clash XIII Preview: 32 Teams 

Bracket A – Teams wrestle Friday at 4pm

(1) No. 2 Oak Park River Forest, Ill. vs. (8) Pleasant Valley, Iowa
(4) Simley, Minn. vs. (5) Minneota, Minn.
(3) No. 48 Shakopee, Minn. vs. (6) Wasatch, Utah
(2) No. 41 Union, Iowa vs. (7) Kenyon-Wanamingo, Minn.

Bracket B – Teams wrestle Friday at 9am

(1) No. 12 St. Peter’s Prep, Minn. vs. (8) Parkston, S.D.
(4) No. 42 Marist, Ill. vs. (5) Vacaville, Calif.
(3) Carl Sandburg, Ill. vs. (6) Grand Island, Neb.
(2) No. 26 St. Michael-Albertville, Minn. vs. (7) Totino-Grace, Minn.

Bracket C – Teams wrestle Friday at 4pm

(1) No. 16 Apple Valley, Minn. vs. (8) Fox Lake Grant, Ill.
(4) Glenbard North, Ill. vs. (5) Prior Lake, Minn.
(3) Mediapolis, Iowa vs. (6) Jefferson, Ga.
(2) No. 25 Bound Brook, N.J. vs. (7) Jackson County Central, Minn.

Bracket D – Teams wrestle Friday at 9am

(1) No. 17 Marmion Academy, Ill. vs. (8) LCWM, Minn.
(4) Hastings, Minn. vs. (5) Cedar Rapids Jefferson, Iowa
(3) Hononegah, Ill. vs. (6) Anoka, Minn.
(2) No. 24 Bettendorf, Iowa vs. (7) Adrian, Minn.