Release and cover photo from the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa — For the second consecutive year the Loras College and Wartburg College wrestling teams will meet for the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) Dual Championship. Wartburg, currently ranked No.1 by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) puts its 204 Iowa Conference dual win streak on the line against the fifth-ranked Duhawks.

A season ago Wartburg defeated Loras 32-0 to claim their 25th consecutive IIAC championship and 35th overall. The Knights lead the series 51-7-3, with Loras’ last win over Wartburg coming on January 23, 1992.

Tonight, Loras will tentatively put three ranked wrestlers on the mat in No.5 Jimmy Davis (149lbs.), No.3 Guy Patron Jr. (197lbs.) and No.5 Quin Gilliam (285lbs.). Wartburg’s starting line-up would expect to see eight ranked wrestlers. The Knight’s individually ranked wrestlers see Cross Cannone (149lbs.), Mike Ross (165lbs.), Eric DeVos (174lbs.) and Lance Evans (285lbs.) representing the number one spot in the nation. The additional four Knights nationally ranked are No. 3 Brock Rathbun (133lbs.), No.2 Logan Thomsen (157lbs.), No..2 Tyler Lutes (184lbs.) and No.2 Kyle Fank (197lbs.).

The meet will take place at 7:00 p.m. tonight inside of Levick Arena in Waverly, Iowa. You can follow the action live by clicking here.


No. 5


(17-0, 7-0)

No. 1

(17-2, 7-0)
Wt. Class Wrestler Record Wrestler Record
125lbs. Matt Randone 11-12 Connor Cleveland
Brennan Doebel
133lbs. Michael Triplett 10-9 No. 3 Brock Rathbun 16-5
141lbs. Kevin Kelly 21-5 Martine Sandoval
Brenden Baker
149lbs. No. 5 Jimmy Davis 22-2 No. 1 Cross Cannone 25-0
157lbs. Merrick Purcell 14-8 No. 2 Logan Thomsen 24-1
165lbs. Eddie Smith 20-3 No. 1 Mike Ross
Derek Lee Loy
174lbs. Sam Schuler 13-8 No. 1 Eric DeVos 17-0
184lbs. Awais Arain 22-5 No. 2 Tyler Lutes 19-1
197lbs. No. 3 Guy Patron Jr. 28-1 No. 2 Kyle Fank 24-2
285lbs. No. 5 Quin Gilliam 20-2 No. 1 Lance Evans 15-0