Head Coach: Eric Keller
Years at School as Head Coach: 7
Career Record at Current School: 132-3
Assistant Coaches: Chris Ortner, Chris Smith, Elard Coello, Fan Zang, Mark Pinero

2016-2017 Dual Meet Record: 20-0:

Season Outlook:

Wartburg returns five All-Americans from it’s history making 13th 2017 NCAA championship team: Cross Cannone(141, 2nd), Logan Thomsen(157, 2nd), Eric DeVos (174, National Champion), Kyle Fank (197, 5th), Lance Evans (285, 4th)

The Knights will have some new faces in the lineup replacing two-time All-American’s Arnulfo Olea at 125, Connor Campo at 133, Andrew Steiert at 165, two-time National Champion and three-time All-American Kenny Martin at 149, and All-American Bryan Levsen at 184.

Some major milestones on the table this season for Wartburg are the opportunity to win its unprecedented 26th consecutive (and 36th overall) Iowa Conference Championship, a record eighth-straight NWCA national duals title and 12th overall, a sixth-straight NCAA Central Regional title and the programs 14th NCAA Championship, which would be its 10th in the last 13 years. Wartburg has also won 196 consecutive duals against IIAC opponents, a streak that dates back to 1994.

Wartburg’s recruiting class was ranked #2 in the Nation by Wrestling USA for all Non-Division 1 schools.

17-18 Incoming class:

Brenden Baker: 3X Iowa H.S. State place winner

Omar Begic: 2X Iowa H.S. State place winner

Beau Bush: 4X Louisana H.S. State place winner

Cobi Cline: 3X Iowa H.S. District Qualifier

Brennen Doebel: Jr. College All-American and Iowa H.S. State Champion

Jared Ellingwood: 2X Illinois H.S. State qualifier

Kendrick Jones: Jr. College All-American and 2X Louisiana H.S. State Champion

Jacob Krakow: 4X Iowa H.S. State place winner and 2X finalist

Brady Kyner: 4X Iowa H.S. State place winner, 2X finalist, and USA Wrestling Folkstyle All-American

Ethan Lape: 2X Iowa H.S. State place winner

Derek Leeloy: Jr. College National Champion

Nick Meling: Iowa H.S. State place winner

Noah Padilla: 2X California H.S. CIF Placer

Brock Rathbun: 3X Iowa H.S. State Champion and 4X finalist

Mike Ross: 3X Connecticut H.S. State Champion, New Engand Champion and 2X NHSCA All-American

Martine Sandoval: Jr. College National Champion

Slade Sifuentes: 2X Iowa H.S. State Champion, 4X place winner, and USA

Wrestling Folkstyle All-American

Trevor Walton: 2X Nebraska H.S. State Finalist and 4X place winner

Zion Vasquez: Missouri H.S. State qualifier