Cam Kramer
Brody Teske takes home IAwrestle’s 2017 MVW honors after winning his third state title (Photo: Cam Kramer)
2017 IAwrestle Most Valuable Wrestler
Brody Teske – Fort Dodge- Junior
Honorable Mention Most Valuable Wrestler  (Alphabetical)
 Marcus Coleman – Ames – Senior
Keaton Geerts – New Hampton – Senior
Ryan Leisure – Clear Lake – Senior
Max Lyon – Epworth, Western Dubuque – Senior
Chase Shiltz – Creston-Orient/Macksburg
Alex Thomsen – Underwood – Junior
Bryce West – Solon – Senior
1st Team
106 Cullan Schriever Fr (Mason City)
113 Kyle Biscoglia Jr (Waukee)
120 Brody Teske Jr (Fort Dodge)
126 Alex Thomsen Jr (Underwood)
132 Braden Birt Sr (Epworth, Western Dubuque)
138 Keaton Geerts Sr (New Hampton)
145 Ryan Leisure Sr (Clear Lake)
152 Nelson Brands Jr (Iowa City West)
160 Joel Shapiro Jr (Valley, West Des Moins)
170 Marcus Coleman Sr (Ames)
182 Max Lyon Sr (Epworth, Western Dubuque)
195 Isaac Bartel Sr (Mason City)
220 Wyatt Wriedt Sr (North Scott)
285 Aaron Costello Sr (Epworth, Western Dubuque)
2nd Team
106 Adam Allard Fr (West Sioux)
113 Drew Bennett Jr (Fort Dodge)
120 Bryce West Sr (Solon)
126 Michael Millage Jr (New Hampton)
132 Cade Devos So (Southeast Polk)
138 Triston Lara Sr (Fort Dodge)
145 Zach Barnes Sr (Southeast Polk)
152 Zachary Axmear Sr (English Valleys)
160 John Henrich So (Akron-Westfield)
170 Brock Jennings Sr (Osage)
182 Chase Shiltz Sr (Creston/Orient-Macksburg)
195 Slade Sifuentes Sr (Lake Mills)
220 Rocky Lombardi Sr (Valley, West Des Moines)
285 Jared Brinkman Sr (Iowa City, Regina)
3rd Team
106 Grayson Kesterson So (Williamsburg)
113 Aden Reeves So (Albia)
120 Gauge Perrien Jr (Southeast Polk)
126 McGwire Midkiff Sr (Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson)
132 Lance Runyon So (Indianola)
138 Nathan Lendt Jr (Southeast Polk)
145 Trent Johnson Sr (Dike-New Hartford)
152 Cayd Lara Jr (Fort Dodge)
160 Julien Broderson So (Assumption, Davenport)
170 Taylan Entriken Sr (Hudson)
182 Anthony Sherry Jr (Glenwood)
195 Kaden Sauer Sr (Dowling Catholic)
220 Drake Johnsen Sr (Logan-Magnolia)
285 Tristan Wirfs Sr (Mount Vernon)
4th Team
106 Ben Monroe Fr (Ankeny Centennial)
113 Cael Happel Fr (Lisbon)
120 Brock Henderson Sr (North Linn)
126 Drew West Sr (Solon)
132 Matt Robertson Jr (Assumption, Davenport)
138 Skylar Noftsger So (Ballard)
145 Grant Stotts Jr (Valley, West Des Moines)
152 Isaac Judge Jr (South Tama)
160 Ryan Gorman Sr (New Hampton)
170 Ben Sarasin Jr (Cedar Rapids Kennedy)
182 Alec McDowell Sr (Maquoketa Valley)
195 Connor Corbin Sr (Valley, West Des Moines)
220 Jordan Baumler Jr (North Fayette Valley)
285 Eagan Lickiss Sr (Indianola)
5th Team
106 Cobe Siebrecht So (Lisbon)
113 Drake Doolittle So (Webster City)
120 Brady Kyner Sr (Southeast Warren)
126 Adam Brown Sr (Southeast Polk)
132 Chance Throndson Jr (Riceville)
138 Kaleb Krall So (Wapsie Valley)
145 Dylan Schuck Sr (Sibley-Ocheyedan)
152 Brennan Swafford Jr (Mediapolis)
160 Mac Southard Sr (Lewis Central)
170 Jarel Arbegast Sr (West Fork, Sheffield)
182 Logan Schumacher Jr (Martensdale-St. Mary’s)
195 Bryce Esmoil Jr (West Liberty)
220 Kadon Hulett Sr (Creston/Orient-Macksburg)
285 John McConkey Jr (Atlantic-CAM)
15 thoughts on “2017 IAwrestle All-State Teams”
  1. Why would you give the 1st team selection to Bartel over Sifuentes? Didn’t even make sense on the All-Senior team. He had a better state tournament and season than Bartel. 2 state titles, and hasn’t lost since sophmore year is hard to argue against!

      1. Can’t be helped? It’s ok to disagree Eric, but it’s all a matter of opinion. Hell, Sifuentes should have 2 state brackets from this year alone! Yes Bartel won a loaded weight, but in overtime. Maybe if it was a blowout win like Sauer had on him a few weeks earlier I could see you giving it to him hands down.

        I don’t want to take anything away from either kid, both great wrestlers, but I for one (and The Predicamnet) think Sifuentes is the best 195 lber in the state, you can’t pick who competes at your weight at the state tournament.

        1. Oh there is nothing wrong with thinking Sifuentes is the best. He might very well be. I’m all for having a conversation, but when people come at me strong on here they better be ready to get it back if I think I’m right.

          Nothing Slade can do about his brackets and you can’t fault him for that. It would have been a lot of fun to see him match up against these top 2a and 3a guys this year.

          That win over Johnsen was impressive, but again if I’m totally being honest that guy was only a 1x placewinner. Still a great accomplishment beating a state champ a weight up but when we are talking about guys of this high quality those things matter.

  2. Where is the logic in putting Sifuentes on the 2nd team and Bartel on the 1st. What I don’t understand is, you had Bartel on your all-senior team when your guidelines stated “in the event of a tie, individual season performance was used.” Slade just won’t his 2nd state title, hasn’t lost since his sophomore year, and beat a guy who pinned his way to the finals 16-0. Oh, and I almost forgot, the day before the individual tournament started he bumped up to 220 for his team and took down the kid who would be standing atop the podium Saturday night!

  3. Esmoil a State Champ and is 5th team? The 3A 2nd and 3rd place finishers at State were higher than Esmoil and those kids had 5 and 6 losses. You may want to get to the eastern part of the State to watch HS wrestling more often.

    1. If you don’t understand 3A 3rd place finisher Corbin ahead of Esmoil then you should have traveled to NE Iowa for the Keith Young. We are well aware of Bryce.

      Semifinal – Connor Corbin (Valley, West Des Moines, IA) won by decision over Bryce Esmoil (West Liberty) (Dec 5-2)

      1. Young was earlier in the year – you didn’t account for Robertson beating Birt at Leuders, but you accounted for a victory by the Valley kid in a tournament earlier in the year. Not sure I follow that unless you think that the Young tourney was far better competition.

  4. He did beat Birt 7-3. His only loss was to Holschlag who also beat Birt. Robertson also knocked of two time finalist Curry on his way to a title!

  5. Birt lost to Robertson 7-3 at Lueders and his only loss was 7-6 to Holschlag who couldnt compete at state. and he is 4th team?

  6. Are you kidding me – the 2AState Champ at 132 is 5th team. He avenged his only two losses during the post season and more importantly he beat your 1st team selection during the year.

    1. agreed….Birt lost to Robertson 7-3 at Lueders.. and his only loss was 7-6 to Holschlag who couldnt compete at state

Comments are closed.