ryan harrington

Coe College returns two All-Americans, senior Jan Rosenberg at 125 and junior Ryan Harrington at 174 pounds. Rosenberg earned All-American honors for the first time and finished the season 23-13, and he’ll enter his senior season with a 53-47 career record. Harrington is a two-time All-American finishing third in 2016 with a 29-4 record and boasts a 49-10 career record.

Coe’s lineup will see a lot of weight changes from the previous season, guys moving both up and down trying to break the line-up. Major weight classes yet to be determined will be 133, 141, and 184 where a lot of our upperclassman will be battling for the starting spot. Coe bolsters a great incoming freshman class and many will challenge the upperclassman for the starting spots. The Kohawks will also welcome back junior Brennan Koerperich at 285 pounds, a Western Dubuque High School graduate.  Koerperich is returning to the mat after playing football his freshman year at Coe and taking his sophomore year off. Koerperich will be looking to step into the heavyweight spot against sophomore Dylan VanDusen, a West Liberty High School graduate, who is coming back from a season ending injury last year.

Potential Line-up:

125: Jan Rosenberg (SR), Fletcher Green (JR), Justin Espinosa (SO), Brady Wilsie (FR)

133: Brady Ruden (JR), Fletcher Green (JR), Amier Khamis (FR)

141: Levi Azinger (JR), Trey Schuler (JR), Mike Gussarson (JR), Sam Uthoff (FR)

149: Romello Monjaras (JR), Cole Erickson (FR), Nate Olsen (FR)

157: Romello Monjaras (JR), Cole Erickson (FR), Nate Olsen (FR)

165: Jake Voss (SO), Josh Edel (FR)

174: Ryan Harrington (JR), Bryce Scott (SO)

184: Garrett Kelson (SR), Mike Rathbun (SR), Josh Allen (JR), Taylor Mehmen (FR), Jordan Challis (FR)

197: Andrew Holladay (JR)

285: Brennan Koerperich (JR), Dylan VanDusen (SO)

Notable Freshman:


Cedar Rapids Prairie High School graduates Marcus England (125) 2x Iowa 3A State Place winner, Taylor Mehmen (184) 2x Iowa 3A State Place winner, and Sam Uthoff (141) 4x Iowa 3A State Place winner

Tipton High School graduate Jordan Challis (184) 2x Iowa 1A State Place winner

Linn-Mar High School graduate Johnny Clymer (149) 1x 3A State Place winner

Marshalltown High School graduate Josh Edel (165) 2x Iowa 3A State Place winner

Dubuque Hempstead High School graduate Alex Freiburger (285) 1x Iowa 3A State Place winner

Mediapolis High School graduate and University of Iowa transfer, Cole Erickson (149/157) 4x Iowa 2A State Place winner


Dakota High School graduate Nate Olsen (149/157)3x Illinois 1A State Place winner and 2x Illinois 1A State Champion

Byron High School graduate Brady Wilsie (125) 3x Illinois 1A State Place winner and 2x Illinois 1A State Champion

Lincoln Way West High School graduate Amier Khamis (133) 2x Illinois 2A State Qualifier